Winter Solstice, the shortest day of the year.

in #nature5 years ago (edited)

HP6A9825.jpg
5 sec f/4.0 ISO 1000

Winter solstice is the time once a year when the earth is at the point of its orbit around the sun where the northern hemisphere is furthest away from the sun. In Norway is the sun at the lowest 21. Desember. we have the years shortest day and longest night. On this day when the clock is 22:23 "turn" the sun and begin to rise on the sky and the days become longer. Here are some pictures from an evening hike the 21.12.18 around 21:30 o'clock in the evening. The moon is almost full and illuminate the landscape.

HP6A9837.jpg
7 sec f/4.0 ISO 800

HP6A9834.jpg
7 sec f/4.0 ISO 800

Have bright day :-)
Harald

Sort:  

I can imagine how quickly it gets dark at your place nowadays. My mother told me yesterday that it will go towards of gaining hours for a day since today. I love that way, may be I prefer warmth to cold. But both season have their unique positive attractions :)

Yes the days are short now. Just now 14 o'clock it is almost dark. Every day will be around 10 minutes longer forward when sun rises. I like the colours in the winter and the quick shifting in light, but when times come summer is great.

Posted using Partiko Android

Again, your pictures are technically and artistically at a high level.

Thank you very much. I appreciate you assement and feedback.

Posted using Partiko Android

You got a 51.49% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @harkar!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 15 SBD and the respective amount in Steem.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Great shot. I love the jagged peaks

Hope you enejoyed that season there in your place.
And i hope I will have the chance to experience it myself too.
Merry Christmas! :)

Thank you, I did 😊.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey @harkar, great situation of becoming dark. I really like it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68504.89
ETH 3816.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51