Ozark Insects - Zebra Swallowtail Butterfly

in #nature6 years ago

20180606_155913.jpg

This beauty chose me as its own personal salt block after I had spent the day on the river floating with friends. I was pretty sweaty and gross. Butterflies like sweaty and gross the best.

This is a Zebra Swallowtail. They are common around the Jacks Fork, preferring flat forested areas near rivers and swamps. This one was at an access called Baptism Hole.

20180606_155857.jpg

Zebra Swallowtails can have a wingspan of 2 1/2 to 4 inches across! Their wings have long tails like streamers, earning them also the name of a Kite Swallowtail. There are 140 different species of kite swallowtails found in the American tropics with only the Zebra Swallowtail being found commonly in North America.

20180606_155858.jpg

These butterflies are limited to the eastern half of the nited states and are occasionally found in southern Ontario, Canada.

20180606_155900.jpg

Its caterpillars feed on the leaves of Paw-paws, preferring the younger plants.

20180606_155903.jpg

The adult butterflies can be found feeding on flowers like water-willow, dogbane, and blackberry blossoms. They have a shorter tongue than most butterflies their size.

20180606_155906.jpg

20180606_155907.jpg

I hope you liked learning a little about another Ozarks insect! I wish I had kept track of all the insects and critters I have covered so I could include a list in things like this. Just scroll back through my blog and you'll find tons of information about the flora and fauna of the southern Missouri Ozarks!

Banner 5.jpg

Sort:  

Oh thats a beautiful one! I loved to catch them as a child, watch them a bit and let them go. They are nice and colorful. Enjoy your weekend :)

Thank you, @hanen. That's a nice memory you shared. :)

Wow great photos ☺, ive never had any sucess with trying to get photos of butterflies

I usually don't either but this one was super friendly, insisting on landing on me and just not leaving!

So cool that you got that beautiful butterfly to land on your hand for a photo session! :)

I literally would not leave us alone. It must have really been craving some minerals!

Such a lovely butterfly, with the pale blue color...

I think so too. Thanks for your comment, @goldenoakfarm.

Really good pictures of that beautiful butterfly!

I was lucky it was really craving some salt because it stayed on me for about 10 minutes. When I was done photographing it I could not get it to leave me alone. It didn't even have a message from the fairy world to deliver or anything!

Darn! you would think that it would least be bringing a message...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94