You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: APPRECIATING THAT WHICH IS FAR BEYOND MYSELF

in #nature7 years ago

I wish I could get comfortable with bugs like this... but they're so small and move so fast, they just freak me out!

The only one that I'm ok with, for some reason moths don't seem to bug me. I caught a moth in my hand once without killing it, just grabbed it and then released it. Maybe in that moment I felt a bit of your love for these creatures :-)

Sort:  

I was actually able to identify this dead Dragonfly on the way home... maybe your posts are helping me get a bit less squeamish about it.

IMG_2896.JPG

I think this might be a cicada - like the one emerging from it's skin in the video above. You find them dead a lot this time of the year as they've laid their eggs and finished their life cycle. They're the ones that make the loud siren buzzing songs in the trees when it's hot outside.

Thanks for being helpful! You are correct!

Ah, dang! I was looking at the veiny wings which got me confused. It did seem a bit too big - thanks for the clarification.

@lturner is correct, that one is a Cicada, but I am glad to see you checking it out! They are really cool creatures!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69163.01
ETH 3773.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43