Why are Alpacas not Llamas?

in #nature5 years ago (edited)

Definitely thought these were basically the same thing, but I was wrong. (After only a short 25 years to learn this info...!)

moustache llama v alpaca.jpg

Turns out, they're related via a common ancestor, Protylopus, which was basically a really short old school llama with four-toed hooves (!).This was where their shared family, Camelidae, started - making both alpacas & llamas "Camelids".
Both Camelids have been bred for over 5,000 years, each for a different purpose: Alpacas have been bred for fiber, while llamas have been bred for pack animals. They come from South America (especially Peru).


alpacas-sheered-01.jpg

Also, Alpacas look absolutely hilarious when they're freshly sheared. Photo credit National Smithsonian.

Weird fact about both Llamas and Alpacas: They all poop in one place! Both use a communal dung pile, which is pretty freaking convenient as a farmer but is also a little bit like weird giant cats using a litter box.

4347554610_00e96255ea_b.jpg

You're welcome.


Am I the only one that didn't know any of this stuff?!
Let me know in the comments!
xoxo J

Sort:  

I find both of them to be a bit creepy when I look at them. I almost feel as though they are looking into my soul or something.
Dah ha ha just one giant poo pile really??!? That is weird?!? See I knew there was something truly weird about these animals.
The mustaches help to distract from their creepiness a little.

Lol they are kind of creepy! Especially shaved, their heads look wayyy too big for their necks. I still think they're cute, but I'm partial to mammals

Cute???? Well as long as they don’t look me in the eye I will take your word for it. LOL. There is just something....I even talked to an older lady about 70 years old or so and she felt the same way. Just something creepy about them fellas. LOL

So how can you tell one from the other?

Alpacas are shorter with smaller ears, from what I can tell. I could make an educated guess, but I'm not confident in my ability to discern the two on sight.

The communal poop pile would be super convenient for compost...

I should find an alpaca farm nearby so I can take all their poop!

Posted using Partiko Android

Right?! I need to get on that level!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67974.72
ETH 3841.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74