First Attempt at Daytime Long Exposure

in #nature6 years ago

This picture was taken inside a National Forest located in South Carolina. We were completely taken by surprise when it came to how beautiful the waterfalls are.

Never having attempted it before, I decided to try some long exposure photography in order to get that silky-smooth look in the water. This was the result! Sadly, the day after this was taken, I accidentally broke the ND filter that I was using to capture this sort of image, so I have to purchase another one :-(

20E6627C-8D5B-4763-AC9D-B3CE5ED0C046.jpeg

Sort:  

Amazing waterfall impressive shot

Cool shot attempt !

Pretty rad for your first time! How many stops in the ND filter?

It was only a 4 stop. But now that I broke it, I’m going to get an 8 stop! I was shooting on f/20, which is why this shot came out a little soft.

A camera store I went to recently in SF had a really inexpensive filter kits with ND4, ND6, & ND8 for $55-75 USD. Perfect for breaking or stacking and not ever being able to separate them again. Haha. I use them all the time, I even bought step down rings so they fit my 72mm & 67mm lenses.

Hope you post many more long exposure images, good luck!

Super cool! Check this out @iantakingphotos

Thanks for the recommendation!

Oh lol I actually wanted Ian to check out your photos :)
But he has some good content too!

Congratulations @josiahthomas! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65457.15
ETH 2939.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68