Early halloween in the dunes.

in #nature6 years ago

This week, we have beautiful weather in The Netherlands. So I took my bike for a short ride to beach.
The last part, I walked through the dunes, to get to the sea.
I saw something strange in the distance. I saw white trees. Because the temperature has been above 20 degrees for a long time, it could not be snow.
When I came closer, I saw that the trees were white because of a kind of spiderwebs.
It looks like halloween in the dunes.

20180528_103408.jpg

50 meters of spiderwebs in different kind of trees. How bizar.

20180528_103526.jpg

20180528_103204.jpg

Curious about who made these webs, I start looking in the spiderwebs. I found these little caterpillars.

20180528_103552.jpg

20180528_103356.jpg

Because I felt itchy after a couple of minutes, I did not stay long overthere.
On my way back on my bike, I was still thinking about this natural phenomenon. My head was full of questions

  • where do these caterpillars come from?
  • is it harmful for humans and trees?
  • do all these caterpillars become butterflies?
  • why only in this small part of the dunes and not everywere?

If you know the answers, or have more information, please let me know.

Have a nice day.

Sort:  

Dear @kakkalama,

Caterpillars come from butterflies wich laid their eggs on this vegetation.
After periods of eating and growing these caterpillars will become buterflies.
These butterflies are going to mate and lay eggs wich will hatch next year.

Yes it is harmfull for this plants. All their leaves are going to be eaten.
There is a big change the plant is going to die.

I think you have seen the oak processionary (Thaumetopoea processionea), this kind of caterpillars are causing human health problems. They are a human irritant because of their poisonous setae (hairs), which can cause skin irritation and asthma.

Lot’s of love,
Ray #lifeisforliving

Thanx for your answer mate. I think you deserve a pina colada

Congratulations @kakkalama! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @kakkalama! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @kakkalama! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62441.36
ETH 2940.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59