Findng Nemo

in #nature6 years ago

I like scubadiving very much.
For me it is a nice way to relax and the underwater world is so beautiful. The colorful corals and fish.

PB270110.JPG

One of my favorite fish, is the anemonefish or clownfish. So funny and coulorful.
Since the computer animated film " Finding Nemo", the clownfish have become the most populair fish in the world.

You can find them in tropical waters like the Red Sea, Pacific Ocean and the Great Barrier reef.
These fish live in a mutually symbiotic partnership with anemones.
While most fish avoid anemones because of the stinging cells in their tentacles, the clownfish is coated with protective mucus, which enables it to swim freely in and out the anemone. In this way the anemonefish is protected from predators.
The anemone fish protect their host anemone by agressively chasing away butterflyfish and other predators that eat anemones.

IMG_1109.JPG

During our dives, we were lucky to see the anomonefish many times.
The anemonefish is difficult to photograph, because the fish move very quickly in and out the anemone. So you have to be patient.
If you come to close to the anemone, the anemonefish will attack you. It always makes me laugh under water, because I really don't know what such a small fish wants to do against a 1.75 meters long diver. It is so funny to have the anemonefish so close to your mask.

PB270109.JPG

In my upcoming blogs, I will write more about other colorful creatures of the sea.

But for now, I am glad that I found nemo.

DIVE NOW,WORK LATER

Sort:  

Have yet to see them in person but hope to get some photos of my own some day. Do most of my diving in freshwater and sometimes in the Caribbean.

Nice pics! Hope to see them with your nieces once.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61994.03
ETH 2917.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62