Northen Lights just over the house – wow!

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

Last night we finally got to see northern lights. It was absolutely mind-blowing, and I can totally see why people have it on their bucket list. It's impossible to take pictures of it with a phone, so I'm sorry for the bad quality, but at least it's proof that I actually saw it ... even though this picture was taken by a friend ... ;) It was very fascinating watching it as it danced above us. I guess it's what you can call true magic.

The bright dancing lights of the aurora are actually collisions between electrically charged particles from the sun that enter the earth's atmosphere. The lights are seen above the magnetic poles of the northern and southern hemispheres. They are known as 'Aurora borealis' in the north and 'Aurora australis' in the south.
– northernlightscentre.ca/northernlights

A picture from before it got dark yesterday. Again, bad picture, but still ... beautiful nature <3

Hope everyone have had a great Christmas.

/Karianne

Sort:  

Your very lucky to have seen them, cheers

I feel very lucky, and at the moment it's like this every night! :)

I saw the northern lights in August 2014. I was living in the Seattle area at the time. It was a green fog shooting white beams into the sky. It's definitely something everyone should experience at least once in a lifetime!

Oh, how exciting that you've seen it too! Agree - at least people who really want to see it :) Norway is full of tourists keeping their heads up towards the sky this time a year :)

cool! I wish i was there to see it!
|/,,

I hope you get to see it one day :)

shooting in snow season there is his draw too, i love it

I haven't seen it at all. I only see them in photos and documentary. I really wish to see it, I am sure it is so much beautiful then the way I see it on TV. I wish I am there 😭😭😭. Happy New year in advance to you @kariofthenorth

You'll have to visit Norway then :) :) Happy new year to you too :)

That was awesome! @kariofthenorth This is the one that I was waiting for your travel post, about the Northern Lights even the photo is not that good but I am still excited and so excited for you that finally you have already seen it! I envy you now... so much! hahaha Anyway I hope one day I can see that too in reality. Happy Holidays! Take care :)

It's been like this every night now! Crazy beautiful :) Of course you can see it, you just have to visit Norway :) Take care you too :)

The Northern Lights are always exciting thing to see but on photo can not be experienced like in person !
Happy Holidays !

That is true, and it's of course more important to see it with your own eyes rather than trying to get a good photo :)

Great house nice pic

Great post, how us the situation? you hav a lot of snow a really winter, hope you are happy with the winter and darkness :)

Everything is going great :) A bit scary to drive on those icy winter roads, but I'm getting there :) Hope you are having a great romjul :)

Yes, thank you, little bit cold now but it will bee better. good to hear you have a great time in Sigerfjord :)

amazing! I have never experienced something like this....

I hope you get to see it one day :) :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63041.44
ETH 2985.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61