My Swift bird story (and photo's)

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

My Swift Bird Story

I am busy doing a project on Wadering Birds for my final year in my Bachelor degree in Biodiversity and Ecology.
For two weeks we, me and 28 other students, were sent to West Coast National Park to look for a project and obtain the field data during January.
I found the birds interesting, because most of them are migratory birds from Europe and Asia.
Our location was at the end of the Langebaan marine lagoon where we sat in bird hides which stretches slightly into the water. From these hides we determined the Species richness and Abundance...and i took quite a few photo's from all the birds i encounterd.

IMG_3983.JPG
this Hartlaub's Gull flew away as I approached the bird hide

IMG_4270.JPG
a Lesser flamingo walking to its next foraging spot

IMG_3771.JPG
a Cape francolin drinking water while trying to keep its eye on me

IMG_4379 (2).JPG
a Common Whimbrel still trying to forage with the incoming tide

IMG_4113.JPG
Sparrows huddeling together in the early morning, still snoozing in

IMG_4043 (2).JPG
a White breasted Swallow hiding from the wind

IMG_3855.JPG
a Little Egret flying past, this is one of my favourite shots

IMG_3855.JPG
this Cape Wagtail is feeling treatend by the bird flying past, because the Wagtail is waiting for the food crumbs from our plates.

IMG_3921.JPG
a Rock Kestral busy with its prey

This park is well worth visiting, especially if you are a Bird watcher.
The park website: https://www.sanparks.org/parks/west_coast/

I still have plenty of photo's relating to this Field trip, so keep following me for the next set of photo's.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60918.56
ETH 2919.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56