Wild turkeys at sunset- dozens of them today on a drive in Washington (video)!

in #nature6 years ago (edited)


I was driving out in a really pretty part of Washington (USA) today and came across so many wild turkeys at sunset- it was beautiful!

If you look closely, you'll see elk in the back left of one of the shots, closer to the water. There were dozens of both elk and turkeys in this spot.

This was out near Glenwood, WA, with Mt. Adams in the background, by Conboy Lake :)


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

you were sweet to take the time/effort to do this--and then to share it with us! and we've all heard the one about benjamin franklin, right? how he lobbied to make wild turkey our national bird, NOT the bald eagle.

would he have dug the irony that just by the numbers now we're more likely to spot a bald eagle eating garbage out of a dumpster or at a landfill than in the wilds? the symbol of our country?

wild turkeys won't eat garbage. oh, and friend chuck just sent me this, shot on his way to work in oJai california:

Haha, I forgot about Mr Benjamin lobbying for that, thanks for the fun reminder! I actually do see a fair amount of bald eagles where I live, and honestly, I think I enjoy the turkeys more- they're kinda fun and kooky. That's a good pic of those turkeys- they are beautiful!

and imagine if ben franklin had gotten his way . . . maybe we'd be eating eagle for thanksgiving now instead of turkey?

now that you're accumulating vids at dToob you can see if the phenomenon is universal or only applies to me: that videos have a shelf life there of about two weeks before they stop playing.

I have had some videos stop too, yes! Am thinking it's likely a good idea to backup videos I want to keep on youtube unfortunately.

It continues to crack me up that he wanted that to be our national bird- maybe he REALLY liked BLTs?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63035.00
ETH 3022.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82