You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wildflowers

in #nature6 years ago

-puts on song of the day as usual, to play while I comment-

That's quite the pretty bounty you returned with there =) The only thing I have to say about using herbs, etc, as remedies and teas is, first, that I used to do it and it's great as a creative, practical hobby ^^ but second, that one should also be careful with this... There are stories aplenty of people making themselves sick by either over-dosing on certain plant-teas, or ingesting a herb that was not meant for the purpose they thought it was.

But your beautiful image at the bottom reminded me of another hobby I used to thoroughly enjoy: Flower pressing! ... =) ... They can last years if preserved correctly.

Sort:  

Yeah. Some plants look very similar and while one can be good and even healthy others can be deadly. I only use plants that I recognize and know won't do any harm. Same with berries and mushrooms from forest.

We have a saying here that goes along the lines..if you consume things too much, you do only harm to yourself (in Latvian - Kas par daudz, tas par skādi). Everything in moderation :)

Ah flower pressing. I did that too. I thought about pressing some and paint them as well, you know, like they did in old medical journals or something. Could be fun :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63582.29
ETH 3267.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93