Out and about with me Mum~glorious reflections and a blessed encounter

in #nature6 years ago

I am so very lucky to still live in the same city as most all of my immediate family. Each one of us have busy lives but have adopted patterns to keep us connected. Through a series of recent events both my Mother and I have fallen into "retirement" from our jobs. My Mother because of her age and myself because of a decision to leave a career I was unhappy in. Both of us had hectic schedules in the past and often used holidays as the excuse to see each other. It wasn't until recently that we were able to establish a new routine to connect. We now are able to dedicate a few days a week for some exercise and some enjoyment of nature.

Today's adventure was a walk along a river path we have in our city. While it is technically an urban environment, the trail by the river is flooded with natural beauty and all it beholds. We normally walk or hike closer to the morning but today set out in the middle of the day.

One of the first treasures we found was a stoic Grey Heron standing just feet from where we were walking. The light of the day made for perfect reflections on the water and I was able to capture the most amazing image of it's peaceful nature.

IMG_2661.JPG

Surprisingly this image is totally unedited and taken with my iphone. It looks like a collage representing all the wonders of our day.

Here's another one. I was so amazed that we didn't startle it off.

IMG_2662.JPG

We walked along grateful for our encounter with that majestic bird. The wetlands we were going through were flooded with all types of birds. The next encounter we had was with this pair of Canadian Geese.

IMG_2666.JPG

While Canadian Geese are plentiful here this time of year, I was delighted to be so close to these two and stand above the bank watching them do their thing.

We walked on challenging each other with identification of all of the water fowl we saw. Bird watching is such a peaceful hobby. You have to remain calm and still in order not to stir the subjects of your curiosity. Not to mention that just observing the sentient nature of birds is a meditation all in itself.

The reflection on the water this time of day was also very soothing. Having all of the beauty doubled was a site to see.

This first picture has two little coot swimming. I loved the framing ripples in the pond that they created breaking the reflection of the trees.

IMG_2663.JPG

IMG_2665.JPG

IMG_2667.JPG

As we walked back to the car we were able to find the Blue Heron we had started out our adventure with. It had taken a new perch across the little pond from where we had first spotted it. While this wasn't the best shot, I still took the shot because I was so happy to see it again.

IMG_2669.JPG

I am truly a lucky person to have my family so near by. In this day and age life takes us in so many different directions. We can get so absorbed in trivial things. While not all of us keep strong connections with our blood relatives we all hopefully have someone we consider "family" that we cherish spending time with. I hope that in the hustle and bustle of life you are able to find time to connect with them and share some peaceful time away from the stresses of life.

Sort:  

If You Follow Upvote comment And Resteem me I Will Do Same

Good luck on your quest. Unfortunately I reserve my voting power for the people that I follow with quality content that resonates with me.

It is really good when you have the opportunity at least sometimes to enjoy communication with nature

That is so very true. I try to get out into nature whenever I can.

Sounds like you have made the right decision to leave a busy scheduled life, and now how time to connect more with family and have weekly routines with your mother. Going to life, no matter what we do, staying at home, traveling, working, I believe it's all about the people we meet and connect with, family included. It's so important! Just curious what you will do for income and work now that you've left something behind, what's in the future for you? :) Looks like a lovely walk by the way...

Thanks Helen. I feel so blessed to have the time to spend with my Mom. It's so easy to get caught up in a stressful career trying to fulfill what we in the US call the "American dream". I am finally at a place where I am reassessing all of that and trying to find a path that fulfills my monetary needs as well as the true desires of my soul. I have decided to live off of my savings for a bit and test the waters in areas that I find joy. So far it really has been working. I have a little resale business selling vintage treasures that I find and am also in the process of seeing if I can move more towards my artistic endeavors in order to pay my bills. I'm just one of those people that doesn't need too much money to live so am blessed with taking the time to dabble in this and that and see what sticks. It's such a difference from a brain draining career. We'll see, I just don't want to go back to a stressful career in middle management. The funny thing is, I feel busier than I have in years, but my heart is happy and I don't come home feeling like I have the flu every night from stress :)

So true! I believe there are so many people chasing something they don't even know what is, but it's certainly not happiness! I hope that you will find your way and be able to live off what vintage treasures and artistic endeavors can give you. I'm glad that it's working so far! I'm also happy that you have your family around you, you're lucky! Thanks for sharing your thoughts and dreams :)

Thanks for sharing this wonderful glimpse into your life. The photos were excellent! This has inspired me to slow down a bit today and enjoy the time I plan to spend with the Missus. We are off today and now I think we shall go out and find an adventure!

Hello Emily! It's been a while and now I have nominated you in the Seven Day Black and White Challenge. I hope you will join! Here's my entrance where I'm nominating you: https://steemit.com/photography/@helenmunch/the-seven-day-black-and-white-challenge-day-4 I hope all is well and that I'll see you soon! :) Helen

Congratulations @mle777! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - The party continues

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @mle777! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62622.67
ETH 2944.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61