Violets?!?! Where is winter?

in #nature6 years ago

Is this a trick Mother Nature?

Over the last few weeks I have been getting a little bit of anxiety for all of the plants and trees here in the Willamette Valley. Winter seems to have forgotten all about us this year. There were apparently a few days of freezing here when I was vacationing in Colorado about a month ago(they have had a very mild winter as well) but other than that....nothing! Today's temp was 61°F and it definitely felt like spring. Needless to say, all of the normal spring activity in the plant kingdom has been taking place. Trees are budding and crocus and daffodil are bursting forth.

One of the true signs of spring for me are violets and I had noticed that they seemed to be popping up in the landscaping in my neighborhood. They hold a special place in my heart and I always look forward to their arrival. I am an herbalist and love to capture their essence, nutritional content, healing properties and spirit of spring in tincture form to utilize throughout the year. I was also planning on making some jelly this year as a gift for my Mother and had an idea to try freezing the leaves to eat throughout the year (they are little vitamin powerhouses). Could this really be true, violets already!? So I headed east to my normal foraging grounds to see if they were truly springing forth.

IMG_1884.JPG

The area I go to is at a little higher elevation from where I live and I had my doubts, but sure enough...little shy violets had started to make their way through. The patch that I return to every year sits mainly under hazelnut(filbert) trees and I noticed something very curious. Normally the leaves that carpet the ground would've been absorbed over the winter but they were still there. While the normal bounty of purple was still sparse, I marveled at how the absence of certain cycles such as leaves degenerating into the ground didn't seem to matter.

I try to always practice ethical harvesting so never take more than 1/3 of what is there. It was clear that I wouldn't be doing any harvesting on this day. They had just started coming up and I never remove anything from plants that aren't fully established. One thing that was clear however was something I love about violets...they look delicate and beautiful but are ever so strong. They didn't seem to be hindered at all by the thick carpeting of hazelnut leaves, they still found a way to grace us with their wonder. As an herbalist it is the spirit of plants that I find to be the true healing properties. These little gems are bursting with spirit!

While I am still perplexed with winters absence and am worried that she may still show her face, I am delighting in the seeming start of my favorite season.

The day was still well spent. I learned that this little plant I so admire had even more strength than I knew and had a nice time combing the banks of the river for beautiful rocks.

IMG_1887.JPG

And on my way back to the car I stumbled upon the most delightful bouquet of lichen and moss.

IMG_1891.JPG

While I hope that winter doesn't come and quell all that is springing forth, I know that she is in charge and will do my best to enjoy and not worry.

Sort:  

Ahhh the spirit of violets. I live in the Willamette valley too! I noticed our roses have buds that are about to open. It happened a few years ago and then a hard frost killed the a lot of new growth. Plants take a cue from the weather but maybe can't predict the future. Hopefully the good weather will continue.

Everything seems to be going crazy around here. It's just a trip because I don't recall it ever getting to this point so early. I remember that a few years back when we had our false spring. I just get myself into such a head full of worry for all of the farmers, the plants....is it truly something we humans are doing to muss everything up. Out of my control of course so I will just keep trying to enjoy.

Seems like greenhouses are going to come in particular handiness in the coming years. How long have you lived in the Willamette valley?

I've been here pretty much my entire life. Oregon always has what I like to call a schizophrenic climate, but these last few years have really been all over the place. There's so much analysis that one could get into but I definitely agree with you on the greenhouse front. We are fortunate here to have a rebirth of local farmers doing the greenhouse thing that those that are connected in that chain have a link to some good foods regardless. It's the bigger picture that I worry about. Unfortunately the bigger agricultural economy in our beautiful state relies so heavily the whims of the weather. I'm trying not to get too worried about all of that. Maybe we are just blessed with an early fruitful spring this year :)

Wow that's weird. Here in Montreal we've had a relatively hard winter compared to the last 4-5 years. More snow, and much colder. I'm looking forward to spring, but, not sure if I;d want to see it in January, what would a harsh freeze do to plants that had started growing? Would they grow again come "real" spring? Or be done for the season?

If the plants start growing too early a freeze can affect crops drastically, particularly with fruit trees. Seems like the only predictable weather is unpredictable.

Yeah, for some reason that causes me a lot of worry. I'm not a farmer, but have friends that are and know how devastating the seasons out of order can be.

Beautiful photos! Amazing that the flowers are blooming in january... When it comes to winter I believe we are quite different, I love spring, but not before I have enjoyed a long and cold winter :)

Thank Helen. It seems like you know how to make the most out of the winter months. Have so been enjoying all of your snowy adventures.

Omg everything is so beautiful there!! Amazing place!!

It really is a beautiful place. I have gone up there some years and the ground is just carpeted in purple violets, it's breathtaking!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62656.62
ETH 2941.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59