Tasmanian Native Hens (Turbo Chooks)

in #nature6 years ago

The local name for these birds is the Turbo Chook. Watch the video to find out why. The proper name is the Tasmanian Native Hen, Gallinula mortierii. They are part of the Rallidae family.

Click on images to see a larger version
( All photos, videos, and text on this blog are by @mostly.nature)

Tasmanian nativehen 2018-04-25 n2.jpg

Tasmanian nativehen 2018-04-25 n1.jpg

Here's the video. Hope you enjoy it :-)



If you enjoyed this post, please consider upvoting, commenting , following or resteeming. Thank you!

HR


Tiny Fugi Sprouting in My Plant Pots

Two Moths of the Genus Fraus

Melo amphora - The Giant Bailer Shell

The Spiny Oyster

Sort:  

They are fast! I like the blue necks
Is that your backyard?

WIsh it was my backyard. Most of that was filmed at the Tasmanian Tree Arboretum.

Hehe got me for a minute. After all the posts with wild creatures stealing fruits from your trees I thought that was it :p

I love watching the Turbo Chooks they are so quick. I sometimes call them road runners as well.

Yep. They're certainly entertaining :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61473.25
ETH 2969.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48