You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I rescued a Bald Eagle yesterday! Lifetime Achievement - Unlocked! Pics/Vids/Story/Updates in comments

in #nature7 years ago

What an amazing experience! I love birds of prey, eagles, owls, ospreys and hawks. I understand the feeling you experienced, one Christmas Eve a few years ago after getting home a Barred Owl was hopping around on the ground towards the back of our property. We rushed up to investigate and determined its wing was injured. After getting a blanket, I tossed it over the owl and gently picked it up. It did not struggle or try to peck me. We placed the owl in a large dog crate ovenite and the next day the bird rescue folks picked it up. That owl now resides in a sanctuary, it could not be released into the wild as the injury was significant. It made me happy to rescue one of natures great creatures🐓

Sort:  

That's great that you were able to help it and that it is in a safe place. This is my first bird of prey young I have ever found. I grew up in California near Yosemite and for about 7 years in the late 80's/ early 90s we had a couple of Golden Eagles that nested on the hillside above the house and fledged numerous chicks. That helped instill my love of raptors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63924.41
ETH 3120.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88