TheWanderSociety🍃

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

Inspired by a group of anonymous individuals who identified heavily with well known authors such as Thoreau, Whitman, Emerson, Woolf and many other philosophical types.

Thier writings embodies and leads to enlightenment for some members in this underground secretive society.


D6053263-4B4F-44EB-BA98-F9BC85D11B72.png


I first became aware of Society while browsing the non-fiction section of the local library when I noticed a little book called “The Wander Society” by Kerri Smith.

I was already a member and didn’t realize it, frequently wandering into nature and being observant of the landscape within my field of vision. All who wander are not lost...

Collecting little treasures as I wandered into the unknown. Totally lost in my natural world, my mind at rest and focused on the only task at hand-my wanderings.


D7A730A7-D936-4B65-A4C8-CE040517B518.jpeg


It isn’t exclusively just nature, wandering can be undertaken anywhere-any city, any town, any street, virtually anywhere. The only requirement is being mindful and absorbed in the task of wandering.


64495E44-78FD-4692-B420-64DB3B3C426C.jpeg

Many members leave secret symbols and pamphlets in areas explored explaining requirements for becoming I member. A sort of “Manifesto” if you will.


EA4D7F93-5285-469D-BCDD-E4EE995DEF4C.png


Members often leave testimony of “I was Here” in the form of a symbol.


CC8CE751-FC32-47D1-BE3E-DB2576FF4648.jpeg


There is also a game.


B1CC06B2-62A9-4B98-8EF0-73E744CB016F.png


And pamphlets are left.


1F8E97BE-289A-4567-A65B-0568E388A557.png


Solvitur Ambulando! (It is solved by walking!)


For more info and to view the video

Sort:  

How neat! The symbols sort of remind me of hobo marks - another 'secret' language.

You know I never realized that about the hobo’s. I remembered my grandfather telling me about hopping freight trains when he was looking for work, he said they had their own means of communication. Interesting!🐓

The ones that come to mind were telling of dogs, chances of getting food, places to sleep. I did a quick search and this site has a good list of symbols and meanings. Interesting origins on some of them, too.

What a gem! Love the wanderings of John Cowper-Powys, Thomas Hardy and A S Byatt among many other nature-obsessed authors. Thank you for adding this to my consciousness.

Thank you for coming by and having a wander. J. Muir and Theroux are a couple of my favs.🐓

Theroux I know and love and after looking up J. Muir, I'll be searching for his work. Since he was a glaciologist, it reminded of a well-loved novel by Thomas Warton called Icefields, due for a re-read.

Cracking post I love this! What a way to discover it through a book in the library so amazing! I right on it bringing it to England if its not already here. Thanks for sharing wow... 💯🐒

I spend a lot of time browsing the library looking for gems. You should absolutely do it🐓

Yer I always intend to but am a slow reader and have such a pile of books at home to read. You lot on here keep me far too engaged haha. Seriously though I am reading more and getting through my pile so although I don't do resolutions, it my aim this year to dent or get through the pile of books :) 💯🐒

I do a lot of reading, on here and books. I really enjoy that special part of my life where I can just get lost. 🐓🐓

I agree but get lost in Steem more than I would like! Although I am setting aside time each ay now to read a book 💯🐒

Nothing beats an aimless voyage, going where the streets take you. Always wierdshit going down.. I think I'll become a member, if I'm not already.

That is the attitude ! Being a member doesn’t require anything except looking beyond the obvious. 🐓🐓

Beep! Beep! @shadow3scalpel at your service. I am here to assist all military members on Steemit. This HumVee will be scouting posts from a list of Veterans that is maintained by @chairborne. If you are a Veteran and new to Steemit, and you have questions or want to join the Veterans community, reply to this comment. We got your six, unless you are in the rear with the gear. Ooh-Rah!
Comment by @inthenow. This is a opt-in bot.

Very sweet. Lets make our lives magical! I go crazy seeing the same thing day in, day out. When you've lived somewhere a long while you really have to try hard to find new places, but this is definitely the attitude to go with.

Exactly. Magic is everywhere. 🐓🐓

Fascinating! I had never heard of this society!

Now your eyes are opened you can be a member too. What did you notice today that brings beauty and curiosity to your mind? 🐓🐓

Read the book and happily subscribe to being a wanderer

Isn’t that a great way to look at life! 🐓🐓

Love it! The idea of a society dedicated to wandering...with symbols written on small round rocks...pamphlets to encourage wandering....

I was trying to see what's in your hand in the photo. In some ways it looks like a sea urchin crossed worth a sand dollar. What is it really? Is it a Wander Stone?

Hi Kiligirl, yes I quite think it’s a wander stone. In fact it is the tiniest sand dollar or sea urchin I have ever seen in one whole piece. Pretty cool for a couple of natural borne wanderers. 🐓🐓Ellie Mae

It's lovely! Cool indeed, Ellie Mae. We've started wandering around our town as it's one of the few places in South Africa where it's safe for everyone to walk. I'll look for wander stones from
now on....😊😊

Where there were once oceans one can find the most unusual little things. We were poking around in a field one day and I found several tiny sharks teeth. Took me back to a whole new chapter of Florida. 🐓🐓 EM

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65