The Man Who Single Handedly Converted A Washed Out Land Into A 1,360 Acre Forest

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

I have always been interested about stories of ordinary man doing extraordinary things. I have never been interested in celebrities and mainstream media. I always got turned of by celebrity gossips and things like that ever since I became an adult. The world needs better role models, that's what I truly believe. And that is why I am here on Steemit and sharing some of the things I find interesting.

Today I am going to share a documentary about such an individual whose name is Jadav Payeng(Jadav Molai Payeng), also known as the Forest Man of India. The man is from a remote place of Assam, a Northeastern state of India. He planted and tended trees on a sandbar of the river Brahmaputra turning it into a forest reserve. The forest is called "Molai" forest after him.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68241.10
ETH 3783.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65