You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I rescued a Bald Eagle yesterday! Lifetime Achievement - Unlocked! Pics/Vids/Story/Updates in comments

in #nature7 years ago

Amazing story! I monitor Raptors for the city including Bald Eagles. This Juvenile probably just fledged. They tend to perch on the ground or lower branches in the beginning. I'm not sure about the nest destruction, I haven't see that. Eagles will return to their winter each year. Now they will work on the nest cleaning it up or repairing/rebuilding it.

Sort:  

Yeah it is not fully able to fly yet, it is able to get about 6 to 10 ft off the ground with a flap of the wings, just not get air born.
They used to have a nest off the south end of our property but they lost a chick (I found it's carcass) a few years ago so they moved to the new tree over looking our house. I see what I assume to be the same eagles return regularly.
With each batch of fledglings I watch as the parents start trying to run them off when they are old enough. It seems that the parents finally just leave the juveniles at the nest and then bolt for a vacation since I don't see them for a month or so. The juveniles fly around the nest and scream for a week at most, then they make their way off into the world.
The nest very well could just get destroyed from all the movement and weight of the birds and not the parents.

Interesting. Where are you located?

Eastern Washington state. The area is littered with Bald Eagles and Coeur D'Alene ID has hundreds show up at the lake.

Uh, I wonder if this behavior is indicative of dense populations? I live in Colorado where we do have Bald Eagles, just not as many...at least living to close to one another. Anyhow, I need to get back up to Washington State and check them out.

On my drive from Colorado Springs coming home on the 25 north of Cheyenne, I saw 3 separate sets of Bald Eagles within 10 miles of each other, all on the fence posts beside the freeway. I found it interesting because there are not tons of trees in that area that I could see from the road. I'm not sure the differences between population densities.

There is a lake just outside of Denver called Barr Lake and it's like that. I saw a tree that had tons of adult and juvenile Bald Eagles. All on one tree just hanging out. I shot a video of it before some of them flew off. I'll try and find it and post a link. As for the Cheyenne Eagles, I actually have to be up there next month, so I'll have to look for them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63376.37
ETH 3089.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82