WHEN A TREE FALLS.......

in #nature5 years ago

There is an age old question that goes like this:
Does a falling tree makes a sound if there is no one around?

I am not certain where this question originated or what relevance it may have. Enlighten me if you know. I think I may have an answer. I will share it now.

A falling tree certainly generates a disturbance in the surrounding atmosphere and creates a sound wave. Yet this is not sound. Sound is the perceived appreciation of that sound wave.
Thus there are 3 essential components that create “sound”.

  1. A disturbance producing sound waves.
  2. A sound receiver that can convert a sound wave into an electrochemical equivalent. That is the ear.
  3. A processor that can decode and then perceive that electrochemical signal. That is our brain.

Thus no sound is produced if any one of the 3 components is missing. A falling tree produces only a potentiality of a sound when no one is around.

Sort:  

你今天过的开心吗?想要玩STEEM的第一款卡牌对战游戏吗?快来steemmonsters.com如果不想再收到我的留言,请回复“取消”。

I am unable to read that language

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

I love how logically you have addressed this problem.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

That is a kind reply. I think I might start writing again on steemit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71