Migratory Monarchs Make A Home In Our Flower Bed

in #nature7 years ago

A few days ago we noticed an enormous flight of butterflies camped out in our flower bed. Most of them flew away (just to return in a few seconds) when I got close, but this brave one stayed put to get his portrait snapped.

They stuck around for about 48 hours before presumably finding a more southern home.

Photo taken on my Samsung Galaxy S5.

Sort:  

Thats an amazing photo. It seems like the flower is serving as a canvas for the butterfly's colorful pallet. Thanks for sharing it with us.

Nice pic..... Really hard to click a butterfly pic

That is a massive butterfly. Great colors with that Galaxy S5.

I absolutely hate driving down the road and having one of these hit my windshield.. It makes me sad!

Wow that is one awesome butterfly photo!!!
following you

IMG_0360.JPG

Nice flower Photo
Upvoted and Followed
Keep it up.

beautiful flower with a lovely butterfly.
please upvote and follow me

Weird to see a butterfly in so much detail - you can really see the separation between the body and the wings when it's up close and bright like that.

I've been seeing some beautiful blue butterflies around here... not sure what kind they are, but they're awesome to look at. I snapped a quick photo:

IMG_3024 2.JPG

Always loved Monarchs since I read a book entitled Monarch X in first or second grade.

A pretty remarkable journey they make from the northeast US to Central America. Many do not complete the trip, of course. The children's book told the story of a scientist who marked many of the butterflies in order to identify their migration.

I recall clearly being quite sad for those who were killed or died en route to their summer home. However, I was amazed by those who made the entire trip, thousands of miles, to see the beautiful Gulf of Mexico...

Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69034.81
ETH 3815.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50