Bees vs Flies

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

The other day I was taking pictures and saw a robber fly, a predator of bees and wasps, that had caught and killed a bee and was holding it with its legs.

Robber fly.jpg
Robber fly sitting on an aloe leaf

As I tried to take a picture, the fly got a fright and flew right into me, dropping the bee. Sorry that I missed the shot, I picked up the dead bee and put it in the flower pot. A few minutes later, I was surprised to see that that there were lots of little flies swarming on the bee.

bee and jackal flies.jpg

Looking it up, I discovered that these are called Jackal flies and they are scavengers that feed off the body juices of insects killed by other predator insects such as spiders, wasps, robber flies, mantids and assassin bugs.

I always thought that spiders and birds were the only predators of bees but it seems that even flies attack them

Sort:  

Great post.

I also use to think the same thing

wow really touching
How soft are you!
good job and keep staying
and also best of luck

Congratulations @nikv, this post is the sixth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 3208 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $2778.00. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Dead bee fly over after putting on flower is incredible.✌✌

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63390.92
ETH 3093.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82