Exploring The Grand Canyon - Arizona, USA

in #nature5 years ago (edited)

Whatever You Imagined, It's Bigger

That's what she said jokes aside, it is true that you can't really visually how vast the canyon is without actually seeing it in person. The breadth and depth are always understated in photographs, even when there is good context.

IMG_7640.jpg

That being said, I'd still like to share a few photos from our trip a couple of years ago. I've shared some photos from this trip in a previous post, but I've come across some new ones that I thought were lost!

IMG_7606.jpg

We took this trip, Amanda and I, with her sister and husband. In the above image, you can see my sis-in-law's husband walking out to the edge to have a look at the canyon in all its glory.

After snapping that shot, we caught up with him to have a look for ourselves.

IMG_7553.jpg

The above photo was taken pretty much from where my brother-in-law was standing in the previous image. The first thing you notice about the Grand Canyon, after getting over the size of it, is the fact that there are absolutely no guard rails.

IMG_7659.jpg

I'm actually glad of this, because I think it would ruin the natural beauty of this place. I also believe it would be extremely cost prohibitive to try to surround this entire park with railings.

According to an emergency services officer for the area, they get a couple of fatal falls on some years, and some years none at all.

IMG_7638.jpg

It would seem pretty obvious to me that you need to really watch your step around here, yet some people still seem to think that nothing can happen to them so they make dumb decisions like trying to take selfies in precarious locations.

IMG_7649.jpg

Just like back home in Southern California, it is a mixture of browns and greens here. You don't get that thick green look like you get out east from the constant raining and seasons. Here in the desert, the plants and animals have learned to survive on as little water as possible.

IMG_7657.jpg

As you can see, the trees on the cliffs seem to be thriving quite well. The dark green shrubs, trees and bushes are right at home in this otherwise dry environment.

IMG_7656.jpg

There are even some more colorful flowering plants around if you look for them. We ended up taking a little hike around the woods with the dogs which was quite nice.

IMG_7673.jpg

My little cocker spaniel Harvey was having more fun than I think he's had in years. He was going nuts trying to catch all the little critters that were scattering as we approached them.

IMG_7664.jpg

My sis and bro-in-law found a nice little spot to stop and take in the scenery. It is really quite peaceful out here. No city lights or noisy vehicles to interrupt your relaxed state of mind.

We spent most of the day hiking around and enjoying the trails and wildlife. The next day we ended up driving to the bottom of the canyon and took a rafting trip which was amazing! In the end, we had to get a helicopter ride to the top, and back to our cars.

IMG_7643.jpg

I don't know what happened, but I can't seem to find any of those pictures, which were amazing. If I ever manage to find them, I'll be certain to post them here first.

The Grand Canyon National Park is absolutely massive and covers an area of about 1,902 square miles. There is a lot to explore there, so don't just go and look over the edge and think, "Okay! I've seen it."

I would highly recommend the rafting, but keep in mind - you'll get wet! It won't matter though because you dry off fast in the desert. If ever in Arizona, be sure to check it out! You'll be glad you did.

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

I've been there many times, the north side was my favorite.

Posted using Partiko Android

I can't even tell you which side we were on. I guess I should know that!

I can't even tell
You which side we were on. I
Guess I should know that!

                 - nuthman


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

It seems like I write an inordinate number of haikus on Steem.

The south side has the glass walkway visitor center. It tends to have the most tourist areas. The north side is really desolate hardly any tourists.

Posted using Partiko Android

Glad you liked it. I live a few hours south of there in the second largest canyon in Arizona.

Very cool! I bet you've had some nice hiking adventures. I love it out there, but boy can it get hot.

Definitely. And yes, it does get hot but I've gotten accustomed to it.

Beautiful shots! It is amazing the number of people that continue to take the risks and end up paying the price each year. I feel like there have been a lot more in the past two years than probably in the last ten. I could be wrong though. This is definitely on the bucket list for my wife and I. Our goal is to take our trailer to the area some day and camp all over the SouthWest.

Hi, @nuthman!

You just got a 3.36% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57859.61
ETH 2966.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67