ELEPHANTS AND MAMMOTHS

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

2001973.jpg

source

Elephants huh? Do you think you know all about them? I don't think so but I think you know they are the largest animal on land with a life cycle of over 70years. I always wonder why animal life cycle is more stable than human's.

I couldn't believe the average heart weight of an elephant was around 27 to 46pounds for fucks sake. Well at age 16 an elephant can actually start reproducing, producing babies which weigh about 230lbs at birth. The females have the longest pregnancy period of all animals which is around 22months. Thats awesome, so I gotta wait for almost 2years for them to concieved. Don't they feel anything beacause humans carrying a child for 9months is something hard but 2yrs? That's crazy.

They prefer one tusk over the other simply just like we humans do with our hands, either left or right handed. I haven't actually seen an elephants mouth wide opened before but I guess I'll go over to the internet and check it out. I also read that the tusk, just the tusk, has over 40,000 muscles on it. Elephants are really incredible.

They are also caring and emotional animals, I guess you would have seen it in movies well those parts about them are actually real facts.

1x2_MammothHerd.jpg

source

Everytime I think about elephants, I also think about how they are different from mammoths. Well the first time I learnt about mammoth was when I watch Ice age, you should have seen the animation. I thought it was an elephant at first but they called it a mammoth.

They say the only difference between them is that mammoths are extinct while elephants aren't. Their tusks are more curved than elephants. Scientist say we evolved from apes, so I'm also guessing elephants evolved from mammoths.

unnamed (7).png

I don't know why mammoths and elephants tusk are so expensive and people are hunting for it but I think am about to read on that. I noticed in movies that mammoths has fur-like skin while elephants has smooth/rough skin, also mammoths are mostly found in the cold/ice regions while elephants in the hot ones.

But I love mammoths than the elephants, what abou you? which do you prefer?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62441.36
ETH 2940.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59