1st ROUGH GREEN SNAKE of 2019

in #nature5 years ago

Unexpected, but certainly welcome!


This was not what we expected. While I was moving some rocks, I saw the head of a Rough Green Snake back itself down a hole. After further investigation, we found a clutch of eggshells that hatched last year, and managed to locate the serpent as well.

This species is one of our favorite snakes, and we really enjoy having them on our property. Hopefully we'll have a stable population here on the homestead for many years to come.

"ROUGH GREEN SNAKE - The 1st of 2019" VIDEO

Until next time…

STEEMIT LIKE YOU MEAN IT!

Want to sell sustainable, handmade products in the Homesteaders Co-op?

Learn more and apply here

Visit the Pepper Family Homestead Store here!

CLICK HERE TO ORDER A STANDARD COPY OF MY FIRST BOOK EVER

CLICK HERE TO ORDER AN AUTOGRAPHED COPY OF MY BOOK

Sort:  

hahaha, I had to look twice. In 1970 I came face to face with a SE Bamboo Viper (called a "Two-Step") and the coloring is very similar. Of course they can't survive in the central part of the U.S. and the head is a little bit narrower, but it got my attention...
Have fun with him.

Yeah, I'm glad that the ones that look like this here are nonvenomous, but around the world that's not always true. Must have been so cool to see that!

in Various places it was cool.. Vietnam they have a little critter called a "Bamboo Viper" ( or 2 step) in Thailand, I don't remember the name of it but they have a similar snake with a "Red Tail" that uses the red to attract birds. But, yeah, they are beautiful!

@papa-pepper St. Patricks Color Snake. I Love It........

Oh !!! Snake.....!!
Very dangerous animal..
I afraid it

No, not at all, these are small nonvenomous snakes, and rarely even try to bite. They are actually quite nice.

Posted using Partiko Android

yes.appsullelyeee

I miss your kids bro! They grow fast and beautiful girl! Oh yeah. A non venomous snake! Good! Funny, your kids so brave and the snake is just like a toy... lol

Cute snake

Posted using Partiko Android

Gorgeous little guy.

I found one on our place this past year, but it had already expired, and that's when I discovered that they turn light blue when they die.

Haven't seen a living one yet, mostly black snakes, though I did come across a large king snake a couple of years ago who tried to convince me he was a rattlesnake. ;-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01