Great news from Australia: the country will plant one billion trees

in #nature5 years ago (edited)

Hi there my Steemit friends and followers!

I am really excited to share with you what I just found out: Australia will plant one billion trees by 2050! This plan should help the country meet their obligations of the Paris Agreement but also create a lot of new jobs and thus support the Australian economy.

25.jpg
Illustrative photo. Taken by me in rural Silesia, Czech Republic

Although Australia is known for beautiful nature and clean environment, the fact is that just 17% (some sources even say 16%) of its land area is covered by forest. It is quite understandable, however, if we consider how much of the country is actually made up by desert.

I don´t know how much all those newly planted trees will increase the percentage of the forested area of the country but I am really happy about it because the more trees we have, the better off our planet (and us!) will be :)

Btw, when writing this post, I figured out that in my homeland, the Czech Republic, 34% of the land area is covered by forest (same as, for example, in the U.S. and Argentina). How is your country doing when it comes to forested area? Let me know in the comment section below :)

Have a great day everyone and keep on steeming!


I AM CURRENTLY HOSTING A SPECIAL PULL-UP CHALLENGE, YOU CAN CHECK IT OUT HERE.




pokus-maly.jpg


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about #nature, #animals, #traveling and discovering secrets and beauties of the #world, feel free to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about. Have a wonderful day and keep on Steeming!

Sort:  

Apparently England is at a shocking 10%. The UK generally is 13%, thanks to Scotland's 19% pulling up the average a bit. Obviously some landscapes where never covered in trees anyway, but it does seem low for Europe. Yes there are very noticeably more trees in mainland Europe, especially in Central and Eastern Europe.

Wow, I would definitely expect higher numbers in England and the UK. Maybe some of the plants that cover significant parts of your country are just not classified as trees/forest. I am really glad that more than a third of my country is covered by trees though - once you leave the city and keep walking/biking/driving in any direction for some time, your chances are you will hit a forest soon or later :) It must be amazing to live in Finland (72%) or Sweden (69%) though.

this is the info I was thinking about when you mentioned Australia...I knew there was someone in India planting trees. Found the video:
video.nationalgeographic.com/video/short-film-showcase/00000148-fb1f-d457-a968-ff9f76280000

Oh yeah - I have heard of this guy. Incredible story :) These stories of tiny individuals doing some epic things like this are even more amazing than some government-decided and executed actions of course but we should be grateful for any effort towards healthier environment - no matter how big or small it is or who make it :) Thanks for sharing this isnpirational story with us Eve.

I think they watched your video :)

Nice to hear that. But one billion trees by 2050, how will they count the trees

esay =) Technology helps with that! This is how they do it now:

Now this is cool!

good project for nature and environment.

Absolutely :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=phortun
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=great-news-from-australia-the-country-will-plant-one-billion-trees


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This post has received a 21.76 % upvote from @boomerang.

It's 34% in my country as well. Great info!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94