Sounds of Costa Rican jungle: howler monkeys in Cahuita National Park

in #nature6 years ago

Hi there my Steemit friends and followers!

As incredible as it sounds, almost one third of the total area of Costa Rica is covered with national parks and protected areas, which is one of the highest numbers of all countries in the world.

This amazing Central American country is therefore famous for stunning nature and abundant and extremely diverse wildlife and even though I knew all of this before my trip to Costa Rica, I was completely stunned and speechless when I saw all the natural beauty with my own eyes.

IMG_20170908_102958.jpg

I have already dedicated several posts to my Costa Rican adventure, such as this one and this one but they were just photo posts for the most part. Therefore, I recently decided to create a little video series so that you can have a better idea of what exploring this astonishing part of the world feels like. I called the mini series "Sounds of Costa Rican Jungle" because the noises of all of the wildlife hidden in the tropical rain forest were just stunning.

In the first episode, I showed you what the cicadas at the Bri Bri Waterfalls can do and today, I am going to introduce you to another very noisy inhabitant of the jungle - the howler monkey. I shot this footage in the Cahuita National Park on the Caribbean coast of the country.

The footage was supposed to be here but, thanks to ever-failing D-Tube, it is not. I am sorry. See more info below.

If you wonder what these creatures look like, here is a photo of them. It is not mine though. We saw them too but they were moving fast high up in the tree canopy so our photos did not turn out well.

Howler_monkey.jpg
Image source: Wikimedia Commons (Creative Commons)

NOTE: Unfortunately, after D-Live left the Steem blockchain, D-Tube is the only platform that supports video uploading but not only they take 25% of your post payout, this platform also seem to never work (at least for me). I was trying to upload the footage (in the right format and with a length of just 23 second!) for good two hours but since I kept receiving this "unknown error" message on D-Tube, I got a bit pissed off and decided to publish this post through busy without the actual video. I will try to somehow incorporate it later. I am sorry guys. And D-Tube, the antipathy is mutual. You don´t like me and I don´t like you.



pokus-maly.jpg


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about #nature, #animals, #traveling and discovering secrets and beauties of the #world, feel free to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about. Have a wonderful day and keep on Steeming!

Sort:  

S D-Tube si taky nerozumím. Poslední video jsem sem dával přes YOUTUBE.

Údajně by mělo pomoct, když se na D-Tube přihlásíš manuálně a ne přes SteemConnect. Příště to vyzkouším a dám vědět ;)

Až budu mít nějaké video tak to vyzkouším. Díky

D tube mi taky nefunguje. Nahrávají se prázdná videa a když bych pro nějaké video hlasoval, hlásí mi to "unknown error".

Teď jsem to psal bucimu, mrkni o komentář výš ;)

Jj, díky, vyzkouším ;-)

Your patience regarding D-Tube is worth a 100% upvote. 2 hours?
I would have destroyed my Laptop!! 😂

Thanks buddy :D Actually, I was thinking about destryoing D-Tube rather than my laptop :D

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=phortun
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=sounds-of-costa-rican-jungle-howler-monkeys-in-cahuita-national-park


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This post has received a 2.59 % upvote from @boomerang.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98