Into to Forest - Mirrored Series #2

in #nature6 years ago

All my life trips to the Appalachian mountain range became a source of personal renewal.

For the past four months, I lived in the Allegheny mountains working as a snowboard instructor. Now that the seasons over I find myself reflecting back on and how I have grown in that time. Recently I made a move back to the city again, and back to the realities that come with it. Working on a snowboard and teaching others the sport was well worth the life experience. I love snowboarding but it is not the only thing I want to do.
This is one of the photos I took of the area a year back but didn't dig up and edit until recently.

In the past year or so I've listened to a fair share of lectures by Jordan Petterson highlighting the importance of myth & the human experience.
this led me to not only think of life in terms of a journey but to remember the life lessons in Myths.

In mythology, a venture into the forest is often an allegory for a step into the unknown or test of some sort.

"In folklore and fantasy, an enchanted forest is a forest under, or containing, enchantments. Such forests are described in the oldest folklore from regions where forests are common, and occur throughout the centuries to modern works of fantasy. They represent places unknown to the characters, and situations of liminality and transformation.

The forest can feature as a place of threatening danger, or one of refuge, or a chance at adventure."

(https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Enchanted_forest)

AF5BDFEB-9E19-4968-9BA0-9EBCFFA89FF7.JPG

(Shot on Nikon d5200)

Sort:  

Very educating.Keep it up

A very atmospheric photograph and thank you for mentioning the name Jordan Petterson. Life lessons in Myths is an amazing concept and I will be searching out his lectures. cheers mate.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66021.84
ETH 2981.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70