All About Those Birds

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

On Nature, Specifically Birds

I'm determined to be more connected to nature, both in a wandering-around-on-random-walks sort of way and a I'm-going-to-learn-about-flora-and-fauna sort of way.

Even though I grew up in the countryside and didn't watch much TV as a kid, I still suffer from the same disconnect from nature as most people from my generation. When I'm outside, it's awesome and everything, but I generally have no idea what I'm looking at or listening to.

Bird-watching has long fascinated me. Also, it totally intimidates me. I pay my dues to my state's Audubon society, but one look at all the bird watchers determinedly marching along the trails with their giant camera lenses, tripods, and safari jackets stuffed with binoculars, notepads and lord knows what else, and I am convinced I can never be one of them.

While it is absolutely true that I will never be a bird-watcher at that level, it does not follow that I won't ever be a bird-watcher at any level. So much of bird-watching (or plant-identifying, for that matter) has to do with just basic observational skills. Learning how to observe enhances the experience of being outside, even if a person never reaches the heights of being able to recall later with any certainty what she has observed. For instance, I think I saw ramps growing wild yesterday, but I can't be certain, as I was flying past a vernal pond in my car. But at least I think I saw ramps and that is one step closer to foraging and eating ramps and feeling really proud of myself.

As far as bird-watching goes, at this point I'm starting with identifying the basics: catbirds and American grackles. We will see where it goes from here. In the meantime, I am painting my semi-obsession on one wall of my office, with the planned depiction of birds of Northeastern United States painted bird by bird (in homage to Anne Lamott).

Here's a scary looking owl to start with. I'll soften him up a bit with some paint, as he's a little harsh with his judgmental gaze right now, especially if I happen to be reading an article on people.com at work instead of engaging in a more intelligent diversion. At the very least I'm hoping the wall o' birds, including the owl, will help bring a small bit of nature inside during my long hours at the computer, fending off the symptomatic pains of a life drowning in technology and social media.

new doc 2018-04-30 13.30.46_3.jpg

Sort:  

Getting back to nature is a necessity these days for me too. Birds are a great entry point because they are very mobile and very easy to spot up above! In fact, I just posted a photo of Raven this morning. Your owl is a very prudent choice for an office setting!

Hopefully it inspires me to be wiser. I'll check out your photo – a nice coincidence that birds show up in both our posts!

Loading...

Congratulations @sdkelly! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @sdkelly! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61293.86
ETH 2930.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65