Garden tour - Food crops

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

There's a few things I like to grow in the garden every year. I'd like to share a few with you, along with my tips.

DSC_0164.JPG

Beans

DSC_0158.JPG

Beans are great. They're easy to germinate, easy to grow and produce consistently throughout the summer. It's best to plant them in a big patch so you can get a good quantity of beans. Harvest as you please, if you let them dry out later in the season you can extract them from the dried seed pods and store them for next season. Remember, you only need a dozen or so seeds for a garden bed, so it's always useful to save some seed.

Radishes

DSC_0120.JPG

Radishes are certainly one of the fastest crops you can grow. From 30 days to harvest, you can't beat it. I like to plant a radish patch every year but the results are usually mixed. Sometimes you can find a real winner in the bunch, but other times it's not as productive.

DSC_0143.JPG

DSC_0152.JPG

Cucumbers

Once the hot season begins, the cucumber thrives. They enjoy full sunlight and grow all over the available ground surface and produce lots of fruits and flowers. My advice is to plant the seeds in mounds with rich soil and watch as it comes up in the summer. We never have a shortage of cucumbers when we grow them.

DSC_0492.JPG

Raspberries

One of my favorite perennial crops. The whole genus rubus has hundreds of species of berries on canes. These come back every year, are very low maintenance and produce abundantly. The only drawback is that it has some thorns, but that's to be expected.

DSC_0591.JPG

DSC_0584.JPG

Blackberries

This thornless variety is my favourite. Not only are the berries gigantic, they are plentiful every year and good even when they're a bit sour. Everyone loves to pick some of these and eat them fresh. They fruit later in the season than the raspberry but the window of time that they're available is longer. Some years we can enjoy very ripe blackberries well into November.

DSC_0595.JPG

DSC_0625.JPG

Hope you enjoyed this garden tour. Have a green and plentiful crop this season!

Sort:  

Beautiful produce! Always so satisfying to grow your own food.

Beautiful pictures! Your garden looks great.

Beautiful abundance. My garden is coming along so I understand your passion and satisfaction. I have one thornless blackberry plant and I want to plant a few more. Figs are ripening but the birds are eating them before I get to them. My asparagus patch is rewarding with little effort. Thanks for sharing your garden.

Your crops are coming along nicely... :) I'm living in the Cayman Islands with tropical weather. I wonder if I can grow radishes?

Thanks for posting on gardening. Your veggies look yummie.
I want to plant a big garden by next spring; so I need to find a new place to live or buy some containers.. who needs a lawn? Not me.

Love the blackberries and you are right about them, we have had a crop of blackberries from new canes this year and one still on the bush 2 weeks ago which is going into our winter.

It's always good to grow your own crops, you can verify that they're grown 100% natural. Your crops look great. We also grow small tomatoes.

Nice selection of crops. I hope to get a lot of cucumbers this year and I am planning to trellis them.

Have a look for thornless berry plants if you have a local nursery. There are different types available if your local growers have them , Raspberry, Blackberry etc. I am going to grow some Broadbeans and Snowpeas, it's winter.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67720.63
ETH 3807.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68