Arenal VolcanosteemCreated with Sketch.

in #nature6 years ago

IMG-20160521-WA0046[2].jpg

Arenal Volcano State Park, Costa Rica

This is a picture I took of Arenal Volcano in Costa Rica. Arenal Volcano national park contains two volcanoes: the Active Arenal Volcano and the inactive volcano Chato (or Cerro Chato). Surrounding the two mountains is a beautiful wilderness and various hot springs.

Cerro Chato

Cerro Chato is easily one of the most rewarding hikes I have ever done. At the top of the dormant volcano is a crater lake which has a beautiful green color. It is not recommended to swim in the lake due to certain minerals in the water, but who could resist? Locals and backpackers swim in the water anyway and it is fairly cool, so it is a rewarding experience to jump in after the treacherous hike up. The hike itself is not for the faint of heart. It is roughly a 4-5 hour hike and is fairly steep. The trek is also much more difficult when it rains.

Rope Swing and Waterfall

Not to far outside of La Fortuna is a waterfall area with a rope swing. Mostly locals hang out around this area, but it is worth the visit if you need to cool down. It was probably a mile hike away from the hotel I stayed at, and is well hidden if you don't know what to look for.

Hostels

If you plan on staying in La Fortuna, I would recommend staying at Luigi's hotel. The stay is relatively cheap during the rainy season and the workers are helpful. The best part is that every room is facing in the direction of Arenal and there are no obstructions blocking the view. This allows for some great photographs! I've also heard good things about the backpackers hostel. I didn't stay there myself, but I've heard good things from friends I meet in Fortuna.

If you found any of this interesting or helpful, be sure to upvote, resteem, and follow me! I'm going to try my best to post regularly and keep my blog interesting! Thanks!

Sort:  

I am a simple #costrica resteemer and upvoting fan.. keep up the good work.. as time goes on i believe i will get stronger and be able to share my wealth... and give aout a few simple coins!!

This is really interesting, and the picture is beautiful! I especially like the orange flower at the bottom--it gives the picture a really nice touch of extra color and in turn, forces the viewer to look at the whole picture.

Indeed. That's exactly what I was going for. Excellent observation!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69718.72
ETH 3746.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81