Quail Hunt

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

Last week I was a little burned out from work so I decided I would go out into the desert and hunt for some quail and I took some bigger shells in the event I came across a Jackrabbit since I recently learned about a braised rabbit stew that has piqued my interest.  It was a cool breezy morning with rain on the way and there's something about a little humidity that brings out the aromas of the desert which is a unique bouquet that I hope you can all experience someday.  Only a mile into my hike I saw movement out of the corner of my eye and it was a covey of quail.  Seems like this group has been hunted a few times because they flushed at about 40 yards.  I noted the direction and decided to loop around using a knob as cover and I came down a wash to where I thought they would be and I could hear them chatting away which is when I realized I forgot my call in the car.  Oh well I will just have to be sneaky and I mean REALLY sneaky because trying to sneak on crunchy ground up to 16-20 eyes isn't so simple.   So I go pretty close but they were grouped into a bush and I wouldn't have a clear shot.  I decided to loop again and try to change my angle and this time I really blew it and they scattered.  At this point I figured I should work my way back toward the car and let the quail win.   No quail or jack in the bag that day but any day in the outdoors is a good day.  

Sort:  

It's very beautiful image :)
I love the nature !!

Nice picture @tenfourgoodbuddy.upvote.thank you.best regards

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71627.79
ETH 3831.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51