Hiking Adventure in Nevada USA w Photos & Video

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

close-up.jpg

This year I decided to start taking more adventures close to home. I live in Reno Nv USA, where hundreds of thousands of tourists come to visit each year. Often, I do not have the time to explore fun things to do in Reno because of work.

copyright-sandy-rowley.jpg

One day while out on a drive to clear my head, I noticed a small trail going up the side of a small mountain in Washoe Lake Park. Something inside said ‘Pull over’ go check it out.

I pulled up to the gravel parking lot filled with potholes and ditches, but my little Honda Insight took its time and patiently found the safest parts of the road to take.

While I parked my little car, I noticed these huge trucks slowly making their way up the side of the mountain road. Their trucks spinning out every so often with mud splattering over the side of their tires.

I thought to myself, hey, I can do better than that.

So I hopped out of my little eco friendly car that everyone looked at like I was a joke for even pulling up to the area, and proceeded to hike up that mountain on foot.

desert-hiking.jpg

The first 20 feet or so was exhilarating. I was showing those big red necks with their gas guzzling trucks, too lazy to get their fat arses out and hike up the mountain…but just as I was reaching the first truck, I immediately was exhausted, breathing hard and considering abandoning my mission.

Each step I took was literally one foot in front of the next. I was hoping no one could tell how loud and heavy I was breathing.

nevada-hiking-steemit.jpg

I casually stopped as to turn around and see how far I had come and immediately was overwhelmed with how high up I had hiked. My first thought was ‘Oh lord, I hope I can get back down off the side of this thing!’

Never the less, I kept on trucking up the side of this mountain. I was not going to give up. I was going to get to the top before the rednecks did.

hike nevada.jpg

Persistent and slow progress, keeping an eye on my balance while inching my way up the side of a muddy, rocky and steep climb, I finally made it to the top!

wild-spirit.jpg

**I was so proud of myself. I had done something seemingly impossible and I was hooked. **

I wanted to keep going, so I did. Down to the other side of the mountain and on to see what was just around the corner. Another mountain to climb.

nevada-wilderness.jpg

I am now up to 10 miles in one day of hiking. I look forward to my time alone out with mother nature.

I often bring a book, some organic food and drink and end up spending my time at the top, not reading, but in amazement at what I had accomplished and taking in the stunning views of the Nevada landscape.

On one of my hikes after about 4 hours of steady climbing up the side of a mountain, I sat down to rest and fill up on some needed food and drink. As I sat quietly by myself, pondering the beauty before me, I felt a warmth on the middle of my back.

I slowly turned around to see a herd of wild horses standing above me.

I was shocked at how close they were able to get to me, without me hearing a sound.

Moments like these are what keep me coming back week after week to explore the great Nevada wilderness.

#horses #nevada #reno #hiking #nature #travel #life

Sort:  

Hey @thewayiseeit - I am a guest curator from the Whaleshares Curation Team. I have selected your post to be presented in a live curation discussion on Monday 19th February. Your post will be awarded with a 100 Whaleshares vote on the night. I do hope you can come along and spectate. The event will be held in The Curation Lounge on the Whaleshares server. Here's a link which explains things: https://steemit.com/steemit/@nikflossus/the-whaleshares-curation-show-with-guest-curator-geke-tomorrow-night

@geke OMG thank you! Wow! Yes, I will be there for sure.

I don't think that I qualify. I do not own bitcoin. Are the rules on this page correct for this event tonight?

https://steemit.com/whaleshares/@jepu/a-guide-to-use-whaleshares-newbie-edition

Yes, you qualify, and your post was in the post-promotion channel that we can pick from as curators - I'm guessing you put it in the post-promotion channel? This show isn't specifically about crypto. It's just a show for sharing undervalued posts on Steemit to get those posts and their authors more exposure. By being included, you'll be given some whaleshares that you can redeem for an upvote, is how I understand it. 😃

your awesome. ty for explaining. looking forward to it soon.

Wow its a great post ever!

@luckypower Really? thanks man! hope you upvoted and resteemed it.

Another nice,
post of yours and followed you PLX follow me also .

@sadbin thank you for the kind words. I just followed you back!

10 miles that is very cool! Looks beautiful. Upvoted :)

thank you @crystalpacheco30 I want to get up to 15 a day, so, if I ever have the time to do the Pacific Crest Trail, I wont be the one in the group holding everyone up.

sorry to be such a pest. I missplaced your link for bitshares again. i am working 3 jobs, life is hectic. please post your link here. i want to make sure i sign up under your account. i so appreciate all of your help.

Beautiful story and pictures, It's like we went on a journey together.

So happy you enjoyed this. Appreciate your kind words.

thank you @kubbyelizabeth for sharing! means a lot. followed you. ;)

What an amazing experience, i'm so glad you shared it here. I felt like I was right there with you, enjoying the view. The horses sneaking up on you was the icing on the cake! You must have a very gentle, kind spirit, otherwise the horses would have stayed away. I look forward to reading more of your adventures. I wish there were mountains here, but the only mountains I ever encounter are dishes and laundry. heh.

thank you @seaslim I appreciate your kind words. I live to hike throughout the Nevada landscapes. Nothing like it. Where do you live that does not have mountains?

I live in Oklahoma City. There are a few minor hills around, but the "mountains" are a few hours away. I always thought of Nevada as a flat desert, until i drove through it over the summer. It's beautiful! Almost got run over by Vegas traffic, but other than that, it was fun!

followed you. looking forward to your posts. here is a beautiful sunrise for you from Nv. SP11SierraNevadaRangePD.jpg

WOW! That is stunning! What a gorgeous shot! Please post more, you have a great eye! The colors and the composition are just beautiful. The rocks seem to be glowing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69389.89
ETH 3686.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.37