believing you can fly

in #nature6 years ago

Somedays are tougher than others. Everyone has moments of despair and are left with the simple self-reflection that it is pointless but that should never stop you from putting your best foot forward and taking a shot at it anyway. This is what I am reminded of when I see this photo of a Southern Elephant Seal that I took in the South Shetland Islands near the Antarctic Peninsula last season.

These animals are huge, smelly, lack quite a lot when it comes to general manners and do not understand the concept to or how to play the quiet game. However, they are capable of tremendous feats that are beyond any humans' capabilities. They can hold their breath for hours and dive down to over 1,000m|3,000ft just to hunt for food. They have a difficult life just so they can survive and potentially have the opportunity to breed with a group of females. That is if they are lucky enough and large enough survive to their breeding age and are able to defeat all competing males on their breeding beach once they are at that age.


However, this photo does make me smile, as I think he is attempting to flap those tiny little flippers he uses to steer with under the water and simply fly away. That would be a sight to see a few tonne marine mammal taking flight - highly, highly unlikely but hey...

He is giving it his best shot

So if your day is less than ideal remember this guy... For one reason, I hope it will bring a smile to your face and for another your day has a better chance of getting better than this blubbery rock sausage flying high with the Albatros


IMG_3524.jpg
Interesting not: You can see where they flippers bend about half way - that is actually where his wrist is located. His elbow joint is not exposed as part of the flipper and is located internally Cool, eh?
Click image to view full size


Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

Dont forget to Upvote & Resteem!!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram feed

Check out my website - Just BCOZ Photography

Sort:  

STay strong!

Hello thomasjmitchell, what a nice photograph, you made me smile. great. incredible that they can hold their breath for so long. Thanks for making me smile. Much success.

You are very welcome! I m happy that you enjoyed the photo and post

This photo is very funny 😂

Your friend is great, he is giving us a great message. Please, give it five the next time that you see it 😄🖐️💙

Hahaha!! I will do my best but don't like my chances

This animals seem to me as if he is going to clap
he is looking innocent.

Hahaha! he does. little bit. they are very amusing animals to watch and I can easily to do for hours when I am down that part of the world

Lovely photo and they are the kind animal!! @roxane
Just once check my post I believe you will love it. Upvote me if you find it interesting.please.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63642.15
ETH 3126.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87