impressive flying talents

in #nature6 years ago

Currently, I am sitting in the Bogota, Columbia waiting for a connecting domestic flight to Medellin, which is two hours away. So when I have time to myself I tend to flick through random photos of my adventures from the past few years and came across this Black-browed Albatross shot that I took whilst sailing over the Drake Passage. Since my last 12 hours has been also flying I got to say that I have a new found impressive feeling towards this bird's ability to simply glide over the surface effortlessly.


IMG_2327.jpg
click image to view full size


They do not have to wait and sit in lines for hours and hours on end, followed by sitting in a cramped seat for more hours and then returning to more lines. I really wish now more than ever I could just fly like an Albatross & wouldn't have to constantly take my shoes off whilst going through the USA for their security checks. Just a small pet peeve of mine, which is really me complaining about ridicules first world problems.


What pet peeves do you have when travelling long distances, whether it is for pleasure or work?

Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

Dont forget to Upvote & Resteem!!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram feed

Check out my website new website too - Just BCOZ Photography

Sort:  

I'm sure you know, but this is for the rest of your readers. Albatrosses have the ability to "lock" their wings in position, so that they don't need to use muscle power to hold their wings stiffly, and can simply adjust their feathers slightly to maneuver. They also have learned to use the wind to help them gain altitude. They turn slightly into the wind to arc upward, and the effortlessly glide down toward the surface until they need to go up again, when they angle slightly into the wind again. This allows them to cover fabulous distances using little of their own energy. Incredibly cool birds.

Thanks for adding that information! I don't believe I have mentioned that physiological adaptation that albatross have to help them be more efficient flyers. I really appreciated the additional information. Thanks again

I like how crisp your picture is of the moving water and bird. My pet peeve would be a sore butt from sitting too long on a seat either car or bus. Please post some photos of colombian art :)Have a great trip!

Impecable foto, no hay mejor manera de capturar la libertad, muchas gracias.

Nada como esa libertad que tienen las aves, nadie las dirige, ni las controlan, son solo ellas. Gracias por compartir tu experiencia.

I love your publication, keep that up, friend!

Nicely timed shot !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93