orca chasing his dinner/salmon near Victoria, BC

in #nature6 years ago (edited)



IMG_2405.jpg


J27 aka Blackberry is this big fella's ID. He is a member of J pod, which is one of 3 pods that comprise of the Southern Resident population in the Pacific North West. This population is currently critically endangered, as there are only 76 individuals left within this specific type. The main contributing factor - LACK OF FOOD!!!. Don't get me wrong, there are many other factors that are contributing to their current, rapid decline in population. This is due to orca being a food limited population and secondary factors, such as, noise pollution, toxins/pollutants & vessel traffic can greatly affect them BUT only impact them heavily when food is scarce.


I was hanging out with this guy about a year ago in the Juan de Fuca Strait, as him and the rest of his pod/family were slowly moving towards the Pacific Ocean, foraging as they went. As we did cruise beside him, at some distance, he suddenly changed direction and sped up. This sudden change in behaviour means - "I found something to eat!" When this occurs I immediately shut down my engines and wait, giving this beautiful animal every opportunity to catch what he is after. before I knew it he began circling very quickly at the surface, chasing what I can only assume is a Chinook salmon (they preferred prey).


IMG_2403.jpg


What was remarkable is that he began to chase the salmon to the zodiac I was operating. This happened numerous times, which blew me and everyone onboard away! You could actually see the salmon just in front of his mouth at the surface, as he was less than a foot behind it. Before I knew it he stopped and logged at the surface for a brief moment - suggests he grabbed it and was chomping it down. Then he kept moving, as he did previously moving towards the Pacific Ocean with the remainder of his family/pod.


Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram feed: https://www.instagram.com/thomas_mitchell2912/


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Wow, they are easily one of the most fascinating animals on this planet. So smart and deadly at the same time.

that is pretty wild


they coming for you!

Thanks for the link - I will look into it. Greatly appreciated!

What beautiful shots! It's so sad that this precious creature is endangered.

Thanks!! It is really sad - I spend most of my year encountering that type of orca and have become very attached to them - especially, J27. he is an awesome whale.

Beautiful shot..
I have a scope of accuracy in photography, which deals snapping on motion. You nailed it, perfect shot.
I hope to see this species not going in extinction because they are amazing creatures.
I love your experience too.
Thanks for bringing them closer.. Thumbs up

Thank you! its all about knowing what they are doing and where they are going to surface.
The species itself aren't endangered, just this one type. Thanks for the support and commenting

What an amazing experience you had! Are there currently any efforts made to help in "attracting" their food to the area?

there is some talk and action being taken to help restore their food source. However, it's not looking great, as people are focusing on the secondary factors as if they are the main factors. Check out the Centre of Whale research in Friday Harbour, WA. The founder, Ken Balcomb says it best.

Thanks... I'll take a look. I was just hoping that more could be done... At least the centre is looking into it.

Guys go to my channel now. My goal is to make peoples live happier. Thats why im uploading funny videos!
Enjoy!!

Es lamentable que se encuentren en peligro de extincion por falta de comida, seria triste que esto sucediera

That was a cool moment You captured there!

Orcas are such beautiful animals.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73