Abandoned Railway Station - London

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

A couple of years ago I was really surprised to learn that there’s an abandoned train station and railway track in Highgate, London. My mind couldn’t really process how that could go unnoticed, but now I know where it is, you can catch a glimpse of the station, during the winter when the trees are bare from the tube, as it sits directly above Highgate Tube station.

I went along to one of the organised tours - “wilderness walkabout”, a friend of mine is a really into trains, and I like abandoned stuff so it was a cool trip.

The overground station was opened in 1867 and closed to passengers in 1950, although it was still used for freight until 1964.

Abandoned for all that time, it’s now been reclaimed by nature. Here’s the only picture I can find - but I love how the big tunnels are slowly disappearing behind the greenery. There’s two tunnels here - another opening is to the right.

19652A62-45A9-4B6A-A8B0-D635A3A65553.jpeg

Taken with iPhone, my entry for this weeks ASW contest held by @customnature

Sort:  

great concept for a photo series / peace

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71297.37
ETH 3698.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75