Philly Mayor's Cup: a 10K preview trail run

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

So @dhimmel and I participated in a 10K run.

This is a preview trail run for the upcoming Philly Mayor's Cup. Starting at the Belmont Plateau, the race recruits hundreds of runners from all running clubs in the Philadelphia region competing at different distances. I didn't know about either the race or this preview run until my running buddy Haley enlightened me. However, Haley was in New Jersey this past weekend and couldn't join us. 

The day of the run, I picked a neon yellow shirt so I don't get lost in the woods. Daniel decided to match me:

I was excited for my first-ever trail run, but I was unsure how my right hip would do after my biking accident earlier in the week.

Apologies in advance for a gross picture of my wound, but I'm actually quite proud of it! On my way back from work on Tuesday, a car parked on the bike lane forced me to swerve into the car lane, which I managed to. However, on the swerve back, my bike's front tire got caught in one of the trolley tracks and I slid forward. During this fall, I also punched myself in the face with my left hand and busted my lips. I was grateful to be helped up by kind passersby, one of whom gave me some ice for my bleeding chin. Fast forward fives days after, my chin is still bruised, my hip bone is still in pain, and my right forearm still has little skin, but I can run and dance again!



Besides the run, @dhimmel was psyched about the trash collection *contest* that happened after the run:

Read my previous post to understand Daniel's obsession with trash and how it led to our tragic loss of a precious key.

The run started a little later than 7:30a. @dhimmel and I were pleasantly surprised by a beautiful, well-shaded, even trail with few rocky parts. We will definitely try to make it out here during the fall. 

We also found this massive tree that is 203 years old. 

I carried on a few conversations with other runners about shoes and technology and bug bites during race. My Garmin Vivoactive decided to stop the track prematurely then died, despite being charged to full the night before. We will try to search for a GPX file of the trail later, but for now, you can see the online map here or from the Philadelphia Mayors Cup website:

The 10K lasted twice as long as my everyday morning run of 7.5 miles because we stopped at every turn to wait for people to catch up. During one of these stops, I got two bug bites on my face. 

We ran the last mile fast and quickly started our trash pickup operation (well, after half a bottle of water and two cupcakes). We collected many plastic bags, cups and bottles. On my way back to the tent, I found this treasure hole, if you will, that people missed with many plastics along with random litter like ketchup packets and condom wrappers. I would have liked to clean the parking lot a little bit more, but the tent was being taken down, so we had to stop. Even though it was super humid and everyone drenched in sweat, all of us had fun! These are my lower calves after the run and clean-up, which reminds me, I need to clean these shoes soon!


Until later, fellow Steamians!

__*Updated*__: @dhimmel has recreated this 10K route on View Ranger as well as generated the GPX. Happy running!
Sort:  

Great, graphic picture of the bicycle accident wound! I hope it is all sealed up and healed now, though looks like it was bad enough you could end up with a scar. If so, keep rubbing it to reduce the scar.

Thank you! @dhimmel has been taping me up well: it's healing slowly but surely! I have some silicone strips that I might put on after the hike to reduce the scar.

I am going to try to recreate the course as a ViewRanger route. Here's the URL of the map, which we can use as a reference.

I also punched myself in the face with my left hand and busted my lips.

Did not know that part!

Here's what I came up with for the course (based on my memory and the course map online:

mayors-cup-10k-course.png

The route it on ViewRanger.

Loading...

Yes, indeed, hence the bruise. ):
I'm going to update the post with the added URL to the Google map, ViewRanger, as well as GPX!

It is good to sweat out in the woods once in a while. You have strong heart and knees! 😊

I came across your post through @zorank who featured it here: Pay it forward curation contest.

Thank you for visiting my page! Let me know when you're in the area and want to sweat out in the woods with me and @dhimmel!

Thanks for the invite though I am on the other end of the world - Philippines. 😊

You are a true braveheart running around all in bruises and being wounded.

That's too kind of you to say @zorank! Thanks again for featuring my post in your curation contest post!

I'm glad to see your post was upvoted by @knircky, who is first "Guest Judge" of this weeks #payitforward contest.

BTW I think the tag for local content is #steemphilly not #steemitphilly. IIRC @yabapmatt even has a logo somewhere!

Fixed! @yabapmatt I have not seen you in a while!

You're a badass!

Hehe em cam on anh a! Also next time lunch is on me!

long tracks and definetely great action heroes for the environment.. I always wonder how can people leave their trashes while they're supposed to enjoy the clean environtment to get the fresh air to breath? well done @trang, hope that you're getting better now and will succeeded with the phillip mayor cup!

You’re too kind! And I know! Growing up in VN I never understood why people litter either. Luckily it’s getting better. I’m not racing this weekend, but I have 12 miles on my calendar on Saturday!

Hi @trang as you know @zorank featured you for @pifc wk 19 contest.

What a work out. Hopefully it wasn't too humid. My daughter lives in Philly and used to run marathons when she was in Cali. She's been so busy with school and work she hasn't had the time. Looks like it was a good race though

Thanks @tryskele! It was humid - everyone was drenched in sweat but effervescent! I would like to run a marathon in California. The training takes time but I'm sure it's worth it!

Hi @trang, you have received an upvote from trang. I'm the Vietnamese Community bot developed by witness @quochuy and powered by community SP delegations.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63035.00
ETH 3022.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82