Japanese Beetles Congregate and Mate

in #nature5 years ago

Here is my post with information about Japanese Beetles: https://steemit.com/nature/@whatisnew/japanese-beetles

These photos are of Japanese Beetles congregating to feed and mate. They do the most damage when feeding in groups, over a 4-6 week period beginning in June. After eating the soft tissues of leaves between the veins, the leaf is skeletonized.

In the fall, female Japanese Beetles will dig down in the soil 2-4 inches and lay their 40-60 eggs. Approximately two weeks later the eggs will hatch into white, worm-like grubs. The grubs feed on grass and plant roots, growing to approximately one inch long. They overwinter under the soil and emerge in the spring as adult beetles.

Thanks for stopping by!

Information Source: hort.uwex.edu, entomology.ca.uky.edu

Image Source: All photos are my own.

Sort:  

Very destructive when they congregate in numbers. Can't we deport them.

HaHa! Sure wish we could.

Ohhh the invasion of the Asian horde of beetles - I have blogged about it, even posted a wee little youtube video of the way I pinch them by the head and squeeze like a tube of toothpaste.... how I hate these invasive, destructive bugs... but I cannot indulge in a rant with photos. I have to go go go NaNo!

I collect them in a bowl of warm water with a tiny amount of dish soap (not detergent) and, once I've finished, I throw them in the duck's pool, where they try to beat the chickens to them!

I posted a long reply to the last post about how to get rid of them organically.

I forgot to mention it there, but neem oil extract is OMRI rated for organic growers, it's really effective, and I even really like the smell!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99