Tiptoe Through the Tulips

in #nature5 years ago

The inside of tulips look interesting to me. After doing research, I found that tulips are the perfect flowers because they have both male and female parts.

Inside the center of the tulip there is a stem-like structure which is called the pistil. The ovary is at the base of the pistil. This is where the pollen is produced. The top part of the pistil is the stigma. The stigma traps the pollen until it is time to be released. And then there are stamens which is the male part of the tulip. The stamens have round fat parts which are called anthers. The anthers are full of pollen which attracts bees. Unfortunately, all of these parts didn't show up very well in my photos.

Here is an old photo where you can see the parts of the tulip that I mentioned above.

Do you remember Tiny Tim who played the ukulele and sang the song, "Tiptoe Through the Tulips?" When I first saw him on The Tonight Show with Johnny Carson and heard him singing in a high pitched voice, I thought it was a comedy act. I was wrong. That was his voice and he was being serious. To this day, I still can't look at tulips without hearing his screeching voice, singing that song. Did you know that he has a daughter named Victoria Tulip?

Thanks for stopping by!

All photos are my own.

Information Source: hunker.com

Are you looking for a caring community where your creativity and imagination can run wild? A place where you have the chance to win prizes for your participation? Are you looking for support or for a place that you would like to support? Then head on over to the Freewrite House and have some fun.

Freewritehouse-footer-400px.png

Sort:  

I love tulips. I buy them for my mother often. And I remember Tiny Tim and that performance.

So nice of you to buy your mom tulips. You remember Tiny Tim? That sure was a long time ago. I hope you don't get that song stuck in your head now whenever you see tulips. LOL!

This post was chosen to be voted by THEUNION.
theunion.png

Thank you for the honor! You have made me very happy. : )

This is all very confusing, so much simpler with humans. NYC Official 31 genders accepted ....

GetFile.jpg

Yeah...right! : )

🏆 Hi @whatisnew! You have received 0.05 SBD reward for this post from the following subscribers: @carolkean
Subscribe and increase the reward for @whatisnew :) | For investors.

Love these wonderful colorful flower photos 🌷 @whatisnew! Especially the top one
with the yellow and red together, so pretty! :-)

Thanks so much @shasta! That was my favorite one too. : )
Did you see why I can't use that beautiful banner you made for me?

I must of missed that?

I am now 61. : )

Oh my goodness!! LOL
Congratulations on 61 ❤ woohoo!! :-))

Thanks so much @shasta! Hugs! : )

Hugs back at ya! :-)

Wow! You have a big garden full of tulips! Their colours are just amazing! Don’t know that song,but I will look up!

I wish this was my garden. I found these at a rest stop while traveling. That song will drive you crazy! : )

Thanks so much for sharing these beautiful tulip photos! They're similar to the ones I have in my yard from the previous owners - 50+ years later, the bulbs have made a return year after year, vibrant as ever :)

Luck you! That is amazing how they return for all of those years and you didn't even have to plant them yourself. : ) Thanks for stopping by @fabfreelancer! : )

You got a 5.95% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @whatisnew! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 40 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67755.59
ETH 3831.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67