I didn't Know

in #nature5 years ago (edited)

100 billion paper and styrofoam cups cannot be recycled because of the mixture of polythene for the inside lining and fragments of clay and minerals to make them sturdier...enough cup trash to circle the earth 1744 times.


Mother Earth cannot bear the burden of our need for convenience and laziness any longer.
Let's be mature, take a deep breath and...BAN PAPER COFFEE CUPS...just paper coffee cups.
We use 16 Billion a year...16,000,000,000! And if you want a headstart to heaven considering bypassing takeout coffee altogether and put that "take out coffee convenience" money toward world hunger.
1491581570677[1].jpg

The cost to stop world hunger is 30 Billion...the cost of 16 billion takeout coffees at 2.00 each is 32 Billion.

confused_baby[1].jpg

Give it some thought, it's easy enough to do.


John St.Julien, Feather's Tale Children's Villiage, Tanzania

Sort:  

I wonder if they could be recycled in a separate process to clean them and make them into some type of product/flooring/wall material/insulation, etc.. Thanks for the message.

I also wondered about that. It seems so doable. I'm going to put it on my "do more research list".

I just read an article in the last few days about this. Something I guess I never thought of. I think I assumed since the cups were "paper" that they were somewhat echo friendly.

Years back, I lived in San Antonio Texas and there was a popular barbeque restaurant chain that had large cups with lids that had their name on it that you could buy and then bring with you through the drive through for a discounted price on tea. I thought that was a good idea, because they weren't expensive and it cost less for more later. Maybe they could offer things like that for coffee as well. I still have mine. It is about 15 years old and still in great shape.

I think you are on the right track and if all the coffee shops gave or sold at cost their cup...problem solved. 15 years with the same cup is impressive...good for you...respect!

Oh! Dear! I am going to bring my own cup! I already use my water flask for hot tea. Now I have to carry an extra insulated cup with me!

Scary what humans have invented for convenience!

Posted using Partiko iOS

It's going to take all of us to make the difference in our earth home. Thanks for considering doing your part.

Those numbers are truly scary and something needs to be done, our offices just banned any one use container in the cafeteria, will increase prices a little but its a great thing and more companies should do this

That is alarming and there are other alternatives but it's the greed and the power that rule unfortunately and majority are to lazy to stand up and do something about it. I never do take away coffee and i take my own green bags when i go shopping :)

Good thinking. I have a metal bottle for water I take around. Rarely ever buy coffee. Something needs to be done.

In Australia there is https://www.simplycups.com.au/how-it-works “Currently, takeaway cups are being combined with other plastic materials (that would otherwise go to landfill e.g. grain bags, straws, lids, etc.) to create a resin suitable to upcycle into new products such as bench seats, kerbing and car stops.”

Here is an article http://wastemanagementreview.com.au/coffee-recycling-made-simple/

Thank you. I just saw your reply. I don't know I missed it and a couple of others. I'll figure out this steemit sooner or later...be patient.

You should use @partiko app
https://partiko.app/referral/quochuy

or install Discord app and register with @ginabot

Both will send you notifications for Steem.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you. I just started using Partiko. After 7 days does an $upvote still make money, as in this conversation?

Yes. Partiko is just a frontend interface to the steem blockchain so the blockchain rules still apply.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Where can I read the blockchain rules?

Thank you. I just skimmed the pages and there is a lot I don't understand but don't think I need to at this point in posting. Just let me know if I'm doing something wrong. :-) I appreciate you getting this information for me. Your my witness vote!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11