Balcony makeover - closer to nature

in #nature5 years ago (edited)

In past days I soaked myself into the little project of mine. In the flat, where we mostly spend just weekends, there is a small balcony - and its makeover became my goal. I searched the apartment for some material to upcycle and bought some new things but with the aim of minimum investment.

Before
20190509_135810.jpg
The balcony is quite small 200 x 60 cm. Therefore it took some thinking of how to use the space...

Furniture
I and my husband love to enjoy coffee and evening wine on the balcony, so I wanted something to sit on. To create a chair, I used an old shoe closet and covered it with PVC, to protect it from the weather. I covered it by hand-sewn pillows from old drapes. To create the second one I used an old chair stuffed it to make it more comfortable and covered it by the same old drape.
20190509_205028.jpg

Upcycling and Greenery

I used old little cups to create flower pots for cactuses.
Romantic lights ensured by candles and Christmas lights in glass jars.
Rum glasses were used as the small greenhouses to grow some sugar peas.
Old glass with the 3l capacity was fit for a sealed garden with an oak tree.
I needed a shelf but I did not want to invest, so I used an old chair and wooden bars from an old couch.
20190509_203555.jpg

Plastic cases were bought new as well as the birdhouse.
We love using fresh herbs in the garden and so I planted some of them to our balcony. Now we proudly grow basil, oregano, cranberries, stevia, bay leaf, lovage, parsley, mint and balm leaves. My husband loves pines so that one was an easy choice.
20190508_090842.jpg

After one day, our birdhouse already has its first customer :-)
20190506_181934.jpg

Sort:  

Hello workingmama, welcome to Partiko, an amazing community for crypto lovers! Here, you will find cool people to connect with, and interesting articles to read!

You can also earn Partiko Points by engaging with people and bringing new people in. And you can convert them into crypto! How cool is that!

Hopefully you will have a lot of fun using Partiko! And never hesitate to reach out to me when you have questions!

Cheers,
crypto.talk
Creator of Partiko

Like! And this cute bird thinks the same :)

Congratulations @workingmama! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69852.07
ETH 3757.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75