You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Australia reduced plastic bag use by 80% in just 3 months

in #nature5 years ago

More good news!

In Canada, there is a movement to reduce the plastic bags but it seems to have stalled at the supermarkets just charging you $.10 for a bag. So, while it does restrict the free distribution of them a little, it is not enough for most people as adding 1$ to a $200 grocery trip is not painful enough for bringing bags. That and the supermarkets are just pocketing the money.

On the encouraging side, my daughter has started remembering the reusable bags when we go so I am working on myself and the next generation.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Awesome! Happy to hear about your daughter´s initiative. There is a revival of reusable bags called "síťovky" in my country too :) They used to be very popular in the communist era but I don´t care - as long as they help reduce the use of plastic bags, I am fine with it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61852.61
ETH 3084.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83