Spider Drama

in #naturephotography6 years ago

thumbnail

A gigantic spider, high overhead, looked scary at first glance. Zooming in revealed it was actually in trouble.

On the 28th of July 2016, my sister, the oldest of my offspring, and I took a morning nature walk along the Pine Beach Trail at the Bon Secour National Wildlife Refuge, west of Gulf Shores, Alabama.

map sign

A short distance from the parking lot we saw the biggest spider I have ever seen in the wild, its body longer than my hand. We would have been terrified if it were down at our level, but it wasn’t. It was a long way up in the air, hanging on unseen silk between trees, directly over the trail. We soon discerned it was a mama spider, surrounded by its babies.

My sister and I knew the region pretty well, but neither of us had ever encountered a spider of that kind.

pic1

As I zoomed in on it with my iPhone camera, numerous little flying insects could be seen close to the huge mama spider. At first I thought the insects had been trapped in the spider’s web, to serve as meals for the mama or her babies.

pic2

Then I saw that they were flying freely, forming a cloud around the mama spider. As I watched, a few of them darted in, struck the spider on a knee or a leg, and then darted back away. Though I could not tell exactly what they were, they were clearly attacking the mama spider!

pic3

The spider did not try to capture or bite them. Instead, it kept changing its position, trying to dodge its tiny attackers.

pic4

Above, I got a good shot of one bug biting — or maybe stinging? — the mama spider’s right front knee.

pic5

I shifted my position to get a better view. As far as I could see, none of the babies were under attack. The swarm of little insects left them alone.

pic6

However, the assault on the mother continued.

pic7

The babies moved closer to their mama, yet seemed unable to help.

I’ve seen ants attack the kind of small spider that closely resembles — and feeds upon — ants. Other than that, I’ve never seen insects gang up on a spider. Certainly I’ve never seen insects that small attack a spider that big.

Unable to see the insects clearly, I cannot say if they were a native or an invasive species, or even whether they were more like flies or beetles or wasps or bees, though I can say they were much smaller than honeybees or yellow jackets.

I could see the mama spider very clearly, especially when using my iPhone camera to zoom in. Despite this clarity, I don’t know if the species was native or invasive in the spider’s case either.

We had places to go, so we resumed our nature walk. We never found out whether the flying insects were able to harm the mama spider seriously.

about me

Follow • upvote • resteem if you like!

Sort:  

I saw a Black Widow today in my garage and freaked out. He ran away but then I went back with bug killer and lit up the whole area where it was.

Congratulations, your post was discovered and featured by @OCD in its daily compilation 220!
You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.
If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd to reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem. You can read about it here.
@ocd now has a witness. You can vote for @ocd-witness with SteemConnect or on Steemit Witnesses to help support other undervalued authors!

Thanks, geek+eke!

Poor spider. Let nature take its course I guess. That's one humongous spider.

We want to highlight one of your posts. Not just the the newbieresteemday one, which is great and duly appreciated. However, our newbies should learn about your interests too. :)

Congratulations you have been upvoted and resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday's top 10 posts for the day! We invite you to use our tag to connect with more of our members. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 00:42:08
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 47.05/100.00
Total Photos: 8
Total comments: 6
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

awesome picture .

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=custone
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=spider-drama


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70958.91
ETH 3798.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.46