The first week of my Steemit journey

in #naturephotography6 years ago (edited)

e58c38a2-98a5-4566-9039-464974435ced.jpeg


Today concludes my first week on Steemit and I have come to notice that I look at the Steemit as a set of fun challenges: I am not a blogger, but I am here to challenge myself to write and I am not a photographer, but I am here to challenge myself to experiment with taking photos, and the overarching challenge I have set myself by joining this platform, is that I am here to challenge myself to ‘share’ and ‘engage’.

I joined Steemit because I dislike most conventional social media. I rarely post anything on my conventional social media profiles, par the occasional holiday snaps, preferably without caption. Maybe it is not because I dislike the aspect of ‘sharing’ as a whole – maybe it is not that I dislike putting information out there; maybe it is more that I am concerned about how this information is going to be perceived and judged by people who I am connected with on conventional social media platforms.

I am fairly certain that my Facebook ‘friends’, most of whom know me or sort of know me in real life, would get fed up with me clogging up their feed with an abundance of cat pictures, and I don’t think my daily musings would be a big hit either. So I thought it would be best to go where my mother won’t find me (she is on Facebook too) and look for a platform which allows me to engage with like-minded people from all walks of life in a less restrictive manner.

So far my experience on Steemit has been a good one, thanks to the warm welcome of @curatorcat, @whatisnew, @nikv and many more.

I am still trying to figure out the technicalities of posting, commenting and browsing. I am currently using IOS snapseed to post and IOS eSteem to browse – this might not be the best way of doing things and, as I realised after looking at my cover photo, there are definitely discrepancies in the way things look (in terms of format and sometimes otherwise) on the application interface and on the actual online platform. I also still don't know anything about cryptocurrency, but I am looking forward to continuing my journey on here, despite not really knowing where it will take me.

Photo description: Photo taken with iPhone 5s; hiking in the Alps with my brother.


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

You're definitely doing some things much along the same lines as I. My Humans have "serious" blogs and social media profiles related to their businesses... so the idea of mixing in "cat stuff" didn't really fit the bill. But there's a constant stream of cat pictures and anecdotes around here... and this seemed like a nice venue to try to develop a "softer" specialty niche than all the anarchist-crypto-blockchain stuff. And so far, so good.

I'm not that much into the crypto angle either... but I figure that if we keep a cat blog here and end up with a little "savings account" at the end of 2-3 years, then that would be a really cool "bonus."

=^..^=

Thank for your comment. I am quite enjoying the constant stream of cat content so far. I think it is a great place to try new/different things. Obviously, a little ‘savings account’ would be nice.

I also enjoy making friends in this community which has nothing to do with my social circle

There are such a variety of people on here, it’s brilliant. It’s great to meet and talk to people from all over the world, who I would never get the opportunity to meet in the ‘real’ (offline) world.

There is so much to see and learn here and you will make many friends too. Many people have said that they came for the crypto and stayed for the community. Have fun! : )

Thank you for your comment. It’s a fun experience so far and I’m definitely planning on sticking around.

That is great news. : )

Thank you for your contribution to the "photocircle" tag

Cheers,
@photocircle Team

Check out this post for information on all the Photocircle tags

Learn about this photo curation project by clicking >here

To learn more about the new project feature, please click on the quest image below.

To stop receiving comments then reply !STOP!

Congratulations @twocatsncounting! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62623.58
ETH 3021.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72