#needlework : 10 completed 6" crochet squares and handed in on Giving Tuesday - 271118

in #needlework5 years ago

I am very pleased to report that today I had the courage popped in to the coffee morning group to hand in the 10 completed 6" crocheted squares I've made as a contribution to their blanket project.

These were the last two and once again the skein I used surprised me with the colours that emerged from it as if by design.


It was slightly funny that I arrived a bit early so they hadn't begun yet, but I met the organiser who was really nice and explained that they need 30 squares per blanket and they've made a few already. They give them to local people who are in need. I may go back next week with more :D

As an aside it was good I stopped there because as I was about to leave I spotted the back tyre was quite flat. I managed to drive to the nearest garage and everything got sorted safely...



photos by @cryptocariad

Sort:  

Those rainbow colors are so cool! So its the yawn that does that? Looking so gorgeous! I like that purple change in to white square too!

Yes, it does and the funniest thing is that I didn't actually know that there were those colours inside because I was drawing the yarn from the inside so I couldn't see what colour came next : pure magic, @naomipangolin :D

That rainbow diagonal square really catches the eye! And the similar purple one! Great job and for a good cause!

Thanks, @jamethiel... That changing colour (stripy yarn) was a complete revelation to me... It was like magic seeing the colours appear. I can see myself 'cutting' bits out to manipulate the colour order though :D

My favorite is the watermelon one :) green on outside with red in the middle. I don't know why but I was immediately drawn to that one

I like the 'happy colours' of that square too, @steven-patrick :D

Oo i like the last 2 pieces. The yarn colours are really pretty!! I can imagine how good it feels good to do this :) did you stick around the meeting to crochet together?

Posted using Partiko iOS

I couldn't stay, @marblely ! I had to go to the garage :D

Oh yah, that’s right. Luckily you could still drive to the garage. I had flat tyres twice in my driving life and both times, The car couldn’t be driven because the tyre was way too flat.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh, dear... I am a bit of a maverick, @marblely... I 'assessed' the situation and drove to the garage - I could because I was already in the town... not at home which would have been too far to drive... The tyre place was 'next door' which was extremely fortunate :D

Beautiful granny squares!!
Son para hacer un blanket? Hermoso trabajo ♥

Thank you, @joecita... Sí, una organización local está haciendo mantas para gente necesitada durante el duro invierno de Gales :D

@cryptocriad they are gorgeous I like the colors and designs.

Awesome work! And I love the fact that they go to people in need. What better way to help out ^_^

In return I would like to help out those that crochet in this community by throwing a contest that happens every 2 weeks.
Come check it out. This round is soon to end tomorrow but there is still time to enter for a chance to win steem/sbd. If you miss the chance there will be another starting right after ^_^

https://steemit.com/ultimatecrochet/@foxyspirit/it-s-monday-bring-on-the-crochet-contest

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99