Folding Rug Hooking Frame

in #needlework5 years ago

I used to be interested in latch hook rugs. On one of my trips to the thrift store, I came across this apparatus. It looked familiar, but I could not put my finger on what it actually was at the time. It was only $4.99 and I was thinking that I might be able to incorporate it into some of my current crafting projects, so I bought it.

image

It took some time for me to find out how I could use this thing. After some reverse image searches on Google, I found one that was almost identical to the object that I purchased.

image

https://woolery.com/rug-hooking/rug-hooking-frames.html

I had no idea that rug hooking frames were so expensive. I also found another one that had a few other features on it that was $395. I am still amazed at what you can find at the thrift store. There are not that many women that I know who still like to knit or crochet as a hobby.

Rug making as a craft is also almost a lost art. It is so easy to buy crocheted and knitted items from the store that have been produced in bulk amounts. I am going to keep my frame, because it can be easily taken with me when I travel. I even found someone that was selling a flannel cover for the grip edges for $20 on Etsy.

The edges are very sharp and needle like as you can see. I believe that this frame can also be used for needle point.

image

image

One day, I will get around to using all of my equipment and supplies. But for now, I am just having fun.

image

Sort:  

You have such interesting tools!! I have never heard of such a rug frame and I will watch @muscara video to understand how it it used... You were very lucky to find it for such a low prize.

I am always looking for crafty tools. Some times I get lucky. I am interested in the needle punch which is another tool used with this frame. It’s demonstrated in the video I shared.

I learned of needle punch from a fellow neddleworkmonday crafter... i think it was @elew. Before I did not know this technique.

Such a great deal.

I know. It’s amazing. I also found out after I posted that this frame can also be used to do needle punching which is a different craft. It’s a cross between needlepoint and rug hooking.

Now I have to look for a video that shows me how this thing works ;)

The video link shows a woman using that frame that I found for $395 I believe. It spins on her lap.

First time I see something like that. I know some people do rugs here in Germany but they use a fabric with wider holes and very short thread that they pull through it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Jluvs2fly from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01