[WIP] The dress is nearly done !

in #needlework4 years ago

Imgur
Heya !

Let's get back on another Miku With You work in progress !

Decorations
We will continue with the organza as, if you haven't notice, she has tiny decorations above her upper skirt. On the figure, we can see that she have that on both side of her waist.

Decoration
Decoration (yes, I've watched a lot my ref picture to find it)

I asked myself a lot on this part : are they transparent or not ? I finally decided to cut them in organza in order to preserve the future skirt shape : the lycra might have too much weight above an organza skirt.

So the process is pretty simple here : I pinned a bit of my pattern paper on my mannequin and traced the shape that I wanted with a blue pen. Then, I recut this part on the organza and burned the edges before sewing by hand on the organza skirt made after this piece.

Imgur
Pattern process

In the future, I want to remake this part with the same process but in white mousseline, a light fabric but with a color to be able to see this part better.

Mousseline
The kind of fabric I want to buy to remake the decoration

Upper Skirt
Let's go on the upper skirt. Made in organza like te bracers and the decorations, it was a simple part for me as well. I even didn't made a pattern for this part ! I fold the organza in two and trace my mesurement (waist circumference * 2 for the length, the desired height for the height). In my case, the height was 27 and the length was 152cm (not so sure for the 152 and I deleted my note that kept my measurement for the skirt T.T).

Skirt process
Skirt process

And as I've doubled the waist length, you know what it means ? Gathering ! I used the same idea as the bracers : a thread passed all along the waist measurement. Not kidding, this was hella long ! Once the upper skirt was at my waist circumference, I closed it so I got a real skirt without an elastic band. And attached it to the lycra skirt and my full skirt was made. And it was already time for the big assembly !

The final sewing on the dress
This part will be huge as I realize my mistake. Yes, I made a huge mistake that made me waste a lot of time but fortunately, it didn't impact the result of the whole costume !
So what was that mistake ? I didn't leave an open side on the dress.
You think that's nothing ? Take a look at how I had to mount my dress ! So as everything was closed, I only had one option to get everything together : assembly the skirt like a sleeve. As a reminder, at this moment I had two pieces for the dress : the bust (that we'll call the top for the rest of this post) and the skirt with thhe upper skirt sewed on it.

Dress state
The dress state as a reminder

To get this done perfectly, I used a green thread to make a mark on my top to get the future waist line (my top was too long and I knew it).

Green mark
The green mark

Once it was done, I took my skirt on the wrong side and aligned the waist of my skirt on the green mark (without forgetting my sewing allowance).

Pinned skirt
Skirt pinned on the top, right sides facing

And when it was pinned, I sew and finally my dress was done !

Dress done
Dress done

After that, I sewed the little decorations on the skirt by hand (I dont have any photo of that step but nothing too fancy here).

The next steps will be more specials as at this moment we were right before the christmas holidays :) If you remember one of my other posts, I told you that I ordered some things for this costume for Christmas :) I can't wait to show you everything !

See you soon !

Sort:  

Thank you for using the recommended tag/s. This post has been manually rewarded with BUILD tokens in the form of an upvote. You can buy, stake, and exchange our "BUILD" tokens for steem on steem engine or SteemLeo

Build-it is a central hub for DIY and How-To projects. It's an opportunity to find and share the latest in DIY, and How-To tutorials. The recommended tags required when creating a DIY article are #diy, #build-it. #how-to, or #doityourself. Please subscribe to our community here

Chat with us on our discord and telegram channels Discord, Telegram.

Follow @build-it for more updates!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

But the end of all things has drawn near. Therefore be sober-minded and be sober unto prayers.(1 Peter 4:7)

Question from the Bible, Is there such a thing as untimely death in the Bible?

Watch the Video below to know the Answer...
(Sorry for sending this comment. We are not looking for our self profit, our intentions is to preach the words of God in any means possible.)


Comment what you understand of our Youtube Video to receive our full votes. We have 30,000 #SteemPower. It's our little way to Thank you, our beloved friend.
Check our Discord Chat
Join our Official Community: https://steemit.com/created/hive-182074

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62441.36
ETH 2940.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59