I Need Advice - Which Design Looks Best For My New Quilt??

I have been planning for some time to make a quilt for my daughter's bed. I started the process a while back and have been taking time off from working on it because it isn't coming to me! When a project doesn't come together, I just have to stop. I recently picked it back up to see if I could get the pattern together the way I like it. I can't, so I need your help!

IMG_3043.JPG

The pillows above (there are 4 of them, but only 2 pictured) are what go on the bed that I am trying to make a coordinating quilt to go with. I had to use what fabric I have here and some of it was only scraps left over from the making of the pillows. So, I started off by cutting squares of fabric and ironing them. Then I decided to do triangles, so I drew a line down the center of each square. I then matched them up and sewed on either side of the line. I cut the squares in half on the line and ironed them open. This allowed me to have half square triangles without having to sew triangles (which is a horrible experience).

So now I am trying to figure out what to do with these 270something triangle patches that I have. I am making them into a twin size quilt, so it will be my largest project to date. I plan to quilt it at the local quilt shop on the huge machine they have! Now on to the ideas.

Idea #1 - Symmetrical Triangles

IMG_3040.JPG

This idea seems to be the easiest at the moment to complete. Each black triangle will be in the same location throughout the quilt. There will also be a few larger patches of the original Paris material (pictured in the right corner). I only have limited amounts of this fabric, or I would do more with it since it was so noticeable in the pillows. The other thing to note is that I have 3 triangles with bright pink, 5 with light pink, and 4 with white. This makes some of the other patterns difficult to do throughout.

Idea #2 - Diamonds

FullSizeRender(7).jpg

This idea looks like it would probably work for most of the quilt, although I'm not 100% sure on that. Some of the patches I only have a handful of and some I have 25 or more of. It just depended on how much fabric I had to start out. Again, I would have some patches that were just the Paris fabric sprinkled throughout the quilt.

Idea #3 - Zig Zag

FullSizeRender(8).jpg

I like this idea a lot because I'm a fan of the zig zag and have made a few other quilts with this design. My only concern with this is I will only be able to do the zig zag for a few lines before I run out and have to do random pieces on the rest of the quilt. Again I would have patches with the Paris fabric sprinkled throughout. If this design is chosen, I would probably have a few rows of random, a few rows of zig zag, and then finish out the rest of the quilt with random (or possibly option #1).

I do not really have a space (or patience) to lay out the entire quilt to decide on an definite design, so I kind of just have to picture it in my head. This normally isn't a big issue because I can do it block by block, but it's driving me crazy on this quilt!! It makes me want to put it on the back burner and start something new.... I even have thoughts of this being double sided, so making another quilt for the other side with different fabric, but when I can't decide on the front, I don't know how to even start on the back!! AHHHH!!!

So I'd love to hear your thoughts. Which idea do you think looks the best? Please vote in the comments!!



Are you interested in visiting Panama to learn more about moving here? Check out Panama Relocation Tours if so. This tour will take you to many cities in the area where expats have settled and introduce you to many helpful people. Each tour is 5 nights and 6 days across the entire country (and you get to meet me)!

1panama ben fb.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 304 (11/06/18)

FOR TSE: I like the zig-zag pattern best, too, but I don't think you'll be happy with it if you have to hodge-podge piece it together the way you've described. Can you come up with enough cotton fabrics in pink / black / white, etc to "fill it all in properly" -- if you know what I mean? Other than that, I guess I like the diamonds second best. But I think if you compromise on something like this, I don't think you'll ever be happy with it. (But then, maybe that's just me talking.)

i like idea # 4 . Oh wait; there isn't an idea #4 , but there should be, so I will give it to you now. Ask your daughter which one she would like it be made with. This is for her room and there is a very good chance that this will be a lifelong treasure of hers so pay no attention to what we vote for and let your girl decide.
That is how I see it, just saying.

They're all really nice but if I had to choose it would be #2 Diamonds!
Look forward to seeing the final product, enjoy:)

I like most of all the zig zag, by the way your pillows looks so cute!!! **

What about one or two wide stripes across the quilt with the zig-zag (~ between 1/4 and 1/3 from top) and the rest can even be one piece of fabric, in one color or only small pattern. Perhaps you can quilt smaller zig-zag-lines into that when you finish it to keep up the style.

I like the symmetrical triangles the best, but you are the one who will have to look at it for a long time. I say go with your favorite design.

I think when it gets too complicated for back to the basics! You can never go wrong with the simplest design. I would vote for number 1 because it so the most pleasant to see in the long run (IMO), and with the extra Paris clothes, I think you can include them in random spots along with the other triangle pink shades since it's also a little pinkish. :) I love your needlework, mama. You sew beautiful things!

I vote for the zig-zag pattern, it is absolutely adorable and unusual :)

I like the zig zag. Will you sprinkle the pink throughout or alternate one row of black/gray, one row of pinks Really cute fabrics! Such a big project, I am impressed. I haven't tried a quilt before but have wanted to. Can't wait to see the finished project.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62486.49
ETH 3015.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93