Needlework Monday - Bracelets

in #needleworkmonday7 years ago (edited)

Hi Needlework Mondayers,

I didn't get to posting anything last week. I was too busy ridding my house of bees!

This week, I've got some very simple woven bracelets.

20171023_202340.jpg

I bought a bracelet making kit for my daughter a while ago, but guess who ended up making bracelets? Here's how to do it:

In the kit, there were cardboard frames to work with, but you can find templates to make your own - here's a site with some patterns for this style of braid.

To start with, cut 16 strands about 50cm (20inches ). Loop them into a knot at one end.
20171023_233337.jpg

Separate the strands into two groups of eight and put a pencil between the two groups. Make another knot under the pencil.
20171023_233856.jpg

So now you should have a loop that can be used to fasten the bracelet.
20171023_234011.jpg

Then, you thread it onto the wheel. The wheels from the kit are colour coded to make patterns. You line up the knotted end in the centre and match the colours to the colours covering each slot. This bracelet will have a green background with red flowers with yellow centres. When you've threaded all the strands, you'll have eight groups of two strands. You start at the place marked 'start'. It's on the right hand side of a group of two - pull that strand out.
20171023_234627.jpg

So, taking the strand from the right hand side of its group of two, then you slot that strand in on the right hand side of the group opposite, making a group of three.
20171023_234704.jpg

Then take the leftmost strand in that group of three and slot it on the left hand side of the single strand left at the top.
20171023_234744.jpg

Then, turn the wheel anti-clockwise (so that the start group goes to your left) and do the same thing with the next pair of strands.
20171023_234744.jpg

After a while, you'll see the braid growing out the other side.
20171023_235840.jpg

When it's long enough, just tie another knot at the end. You can thread a button onto the end, to work as a clasp with the loop you knotted in at the first end, or you can just tie it with the loose strands.
20171023_202747.jpg
Ta Daa!

I'm about to try out an online yoga course So, I'll have to try out the yoga strap I saw posted(can't find it right now, but I'm looking!)

Have a good week!

Edit: All photos in this (and all my other posts) are mine unless otherwise stated!

Sort:  

This is awesome. Thank you for sharing!

Nice post. Are these your own pictures? If yes, can you please mention this in the post? Then I wil resteem your post. thanks.

Thank you. Yes, these are my own photos. I tend to do it the other way around - all photos are mine, unless I've given credit for them. You have a point though, often people don't do that so I'll remember to add a byline under the posts explaining my picture policy.

Thank you for the edit. I suggest to mention in every post the source of your pictures.

Also, it would be nice if you use the bots such as minnow booster, after 24 hours of publishing the post.

Sure, I'm still a bit new to Steemit; so still learning all the mechanics and etiquettes. Thanks for taking the time to make suggestions and give support.

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 88.0% @gogogadgetupvote upgoat, thanks to @beachhermit
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @beachhermit to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!
For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

I love ❤️ kits like that! You’re the second person in two days to tell me they hijacked their kids crafts. Lol! I made a yoga strap a few weeks ago. It was easy and fast to make. I love mine.

Also...ridding your house of Bees? Omg 😮.

Yes! Yours is the one I was trying to find. Is there a pattern? What sort of stitch did you use?

I can do you one better! Here’s the link to the pattern I used!
http://knit2mylou.blogspot.com/2010/08/double-duty-yoga-strap.html?m=1

Awesome, thanks!
Chain 195 :-O Not sure I can count that high! Might end up being 'chain til it's long enough or thereabouts. XD

I love your bracelet designs. That looks like a pretty awesome kit. I’d have to read the instructions several times because just looking at all of the different strings together I’d be confused. I like that you can do different designs. Thanks for sharing with us today. So after seeing your bracelets does your daughter want to make some now? 😄😃

Not my designs, just my fingerwork :)

Yes, my daughter has made a couple now. But in the contest between making stuff and sitting in front of a screen... sigh. But I keep putting stuff in front of her.

Thanks, as always, for your kind words.
:)

Well I’m glad she’s making them now. You’re very welcome. 😊

Wow! Your bracelets came out really nice but the directions made my head spin! It's probably easier than it looks as I am totally unfamiliar with the technique. Nice job!

Well at least one of you is enjoying it XD Maybe you can rope her in to make bracelets with you and it can be like hangout time! My daughter has a hemp knotting thing that she inherited from my sister, so far made a choker and last I saw was working on making an anklet. Looks like fun little things :)

goatsig

I have regular hang-out times with my 21 yr old daughter. The 14 yr old? Not so much. "Mum, go away, your mere presence here is an embarrassment."

I love to fiddle (as in mess around with fiddly things - not a violin) so it's all good. Another thing to take out of the closet on a rainy day.

Hi, beachhermit! I just resteemed your post!
I am a new, simple to use and cheap resteeming bot.
If you want to know more about me, read my introduction post.
Good Luck!


This post was randomly resteemed by @funaddaa!

Resteem your post just send 0.100 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo. We have over 3700+ followers. Take our service to reach more People.

just send 1 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo we will resteem your post and send 10 upvotes from our Associate Accounts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62486.49
ETH 3015.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93