Manic Monday Pillow Time

My first true day of “retirement’ started out well enough. I slept in and the morning was very relaxing. I took pictures of my current pillow project slated to be my first #Needleworkmonday post.

pillow fluff.jpg

With the afternoon came too many diversions. I loaded my car with my old sink, old aluminum foil and some scrap metal from some previous home repair projects, ready to go to the recycling center.

When I put my key in the car, I accidentally hit some of the buttons on the key while simultaneously turning the key in the ignition. That caused the key to lose all of its programming, and it would no longer start the car!

I asked a neighbor to come over to take a look and called the service center to find out what happens next. Then I called my brother to see if I could borrow his second car and see if he could also pick me up on his way home from work. Shortly after I got back home, another neighbor was ringing my doorbell. She accidentally locked herself out of the house!

By the time everything was settled, dogs were walked, dinner was served, garden was watered … Monday was almost done!

Pillow Project

But there’s still a bit of time left to show you my pillow project, even though I didn’t get to finish it today!

Pillow all.jpg

I’m making samples for teaching upcoming knitting classes. Where I live, the extra-bulky or super bulky yarn is really popular, so I try to keep that in mind when coming up with projects for classes. The trendier your project is, the more folks want to take your class.

The problem is I don’t really like the super bulky yarns. Most of them either shed, pill or are just too hard and don’t drape well! Some of them have a thick thread (more like a cable!) in the center of a lot of fluff, and when your finger (or toe) runs into the cable, it doesn’t feel good!

So, my preference is to combine yarns to get a better end product than you can get by using super bulky yarns. I chose some really soft and fluffy yarn. I cast on 30 stitches on size 17 needles with two strands of yarn, which made the pillow 20 inches wide. All you have to do is knit in garter stitch until the piece measures 40 inches long.

pillow on needle.jpg

To make it more interesting after the piece measured twenty inches I started using the really fluffy yarn - Luvy Amourette. I will alternate between using two strands of Homespun and one strand of Luvy Amourette with one strand of the Homespun. This way the pillow will have a different look on either side.

Pillow Homespun.jpg

The Homespun is self-striping:

Pillow view.jpg

The Luvy Amourette is super soft with no hard center thread or cable.

Pillow fluff close.jpg

Once the piece is actually finished, I will fold it in half around a pre-made 20-inch pillow form, and sew the three sides together.

Knitting with thick yarn and large needles goes pretty quick, so expect to see a finished pillow from me very soon! Thank you for checking it out!

I took all of the pictures shown in this post!

Sort:  

Welcome to #NeedleWorkMonday @cindyhartz! Every Monday us needlers get together to share our work, ideas, patterns, tips and to support one another. Our goal is to inspire the Steemit blockchain to try a needle craft or to pick up their needles again.

On Monday’s we use the #needleworkmonday tag and on all other days we use the #needlework tag to find and support each other’s work. We are a very supportive and encouraging community and have a great time sharing together!

Thank you for sharing some of your pillow process. This is one thing we encourage everyone to do, share pictures of you work as you go so that we can see it come to life. I love your idea of mixing different yarn textures to reach your desired feel and look. It’s looking great already, looking forward to seeing the final results.

@fiberfrau also teaches classes! You should give her blog a look!! 😃

For more information on what we do and the posting guidelines please visit and read over our FAQs!

Thank you ~ 😊

Thank you @croshelle! I started my post on Monday night, but by the time I actually finished it, it was Tuesday! I was wondering about that, and I was thinking I wish I knew where I could find the rules! So you must have ESP! I will go check out the FAQs and @fiberfrau too!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Very fluffy! Looks so soft, will be a great example for the class.

Thank you @jamethiel! It is easy on the hands too!

Posted using Partiko iOS

My friends keep telling me knitting is easy but nope, it's rocket science like to me. I admire everyone who knows how to knit. ^_^
Let me give you some beer tokens for a job well done.
Good post, BTW.
!BEER

Awh! Thanks! For some reason, you strike me as someone that would like macrame! Regardless, you are a super-smart lady!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @vibesforlife.

Newly retired... Oh the possibilities! May your days be filled with joy.
Thanks for teaching classes... These skills need to be passed on.

Thank you @borrowedearth! I look forward to seeing more of your posts!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congrats on the new retirement and on the knitting classes you will teach! You know that “Mama said there’d be days like this”, and you rolled with the punches very well.
Love that yarn! 😁

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you @mrscwin!! Sometimes I think the diversions that pop up can be divine intervention. I’ve heard several 911 survivors look back and be thankful for the car problems that prevented them from driving to the twin towers that infamous day. So when worrisome things happen, I remind myself, it can always be worse! 😉

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh! I forgot to mention, I got the song reference! ;-)

To view or trade BEER go to steem-engine.com.

Hey @cindyhartz, here is your BEER token. Enjoy it!

Nice yarn. Hope your Tuesday goes better than Monday.

Thank you @lordvdr! So far, so good!

Congratulations @cindyhartz! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 250

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by cindyhartz from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75